Indian languages rule the Lok Sabha as newly elected MPs take oath

Subscribe to Oneindia News
MPs take oath in mother toungues
New Delhi, June 5: It was the day when Indian languages ruled the Lok Sabha as newly elected MPs took oath during the second session of the Lok Sabha here.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was the first person to take the oath and he did so with elan in his crisp Hindi followed by LK Advani and Sonia Gandhi, who also took the oath in Hindi.

It was a pleasant surprise to see External Affairs minister Sushma Swaraj take the oath in impeccable Sanskrit, while Uma Bharti and Dr Harsh Vardhan did the same.

Soon Railway Minister Sadananda Gowda and Minister of Chemicals and Fertilisers Ananth Kumar too took their oaths in Kannada.

Several ministers from Telangana and Seemandhra took their oaths in Telugu including Cabinet Minister Ashok Gajpati Raju. Sarbananda Sonowal took oath in Assamese and Jual Oram in Odia whereas Harsimrat Kaur took oath in Punjabi.

Many ministers also took oath in Gujarati, Bengali and Assamese.

NCP leader Supriya Sule too was seen taking the oath in Marathi.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...