Home Ministry approves of Bengaluru; 11 other cities renamed officially in Karnataka

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore officially becomes 'Bengaluru'
New Delhi, Oct 17: The long standing proposal of the Karnataka government to rename 12 cities in the state finally got the nod from the Union Home Ministry today, following which the Karnataka's capital, Bangalore will now be known as Bengaluru.

Keeping in mind the pronunciation in Kannada language, cities like Mangalore will be known as Mangaluru and Mysore as Mysuru.

The list further states that Bellary will now be called Ballari, while Belgaum will be renamed as Belagavi, Hubli as Hubballi, Tumkur as Tumakuru, Bijapur as Vijapura, Chikmalgalur as Chikkalmagaluru, Gulbarga as Kalaburagi, Hospet as Hosapete and Shimoga as Shivamogga.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh gave the final nod after the Home Ministry said that they has received NOC from state government of Karnataka, Survey of India, ministry of railways, department of posts, Ministry of Science and Technology and Intelligence Bureau.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...