• search
For Kolkata Updates
Allow Notification  

Veteran Maoist Gour Chakraborty acquitted

By Ians

Kolkata, July 19: Veteran Maoist spokesperson Gour Chakraborty, who was behind bars since his arrest in 2009, was on Tuesday acquitted by a city court here.

The septuagenarian Chakraborty was arrested on June 23, 2009, a day after the centre banned the radical left-wing Communist Party of India-Maoist.


He was charged with several offences including under section 20 of the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, which provides punishment for being member of terrorist gang or organisation and carries a maximum punishment of life imprisonment.

"The court of city Sessions Judge Kum Kum Singha acquitted Chakraborty of all the charges. The prosecution could not substantiate the charges brought against Chakraborty, and court acquitted him. He is likely to walk out of jail today (Tuesday)," said Chakraborty's counsel S. Roy.

Chakraborty was active in the Lalgarh movement and played a crucial role in uniting urban support bases in favour of the tribal upsurge in Jangalmahal- the three Left Wing Extremism (LWE) hit districts of Bankura, Purulia and West Midnapore.

Lalgarh, 200 km west of Kolkata, in West Midnapore district, was on the boil for over two years since November 2, 2008, when a landmine exploded on the route of the convoy of then state Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee and Union Ministers Ram Vilas Paswan and Jitin Prasada.

Complaining of police atrocities after the blast, angry tribals egged on by the Maoists, launched an agitation against the Left Front government of the day, virtually cutting off the area from the rest of the district.

The agitators torched LF spearhead CPI-M offices, drove away its supporters and forced police to leave, thereby establishing a virtual free zone.

In June 2009, joint forces comprising central paramilitary troopers and crack teams of state police reclaimed the areas and conducted intense operations to flush out the left wing ultras.

The movement gradually died down after the widespread arrests and deaths in gunfights.


Kolkata Dakshin Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Subrata Bakshi AITC Winner 4,31,715 38% 1,36,339
Tathagata Roy BJP Runner Up 2,95,376 26% 0
Mamata Banerjee AITC Winner 5,76,045 57% 2,19,571
Rabin Deb CPM Runner Up 3,56,474 35% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more