• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

TMC sweeps West Bengal Panchayat polls, BJP distant second

By Vikas

The counting of votes for West Bengal Panchayat elections is currently underway. The Panchayat polls were held in the state on May 14. The polling was hit by violence in which 18 people were killed and 43 injured.

Mamata Banerjee

Becasue of violence and disruptions, a re-polling was held in 568 booths across 19 districts of West Bengal on Wednesday (May 16).

The State Election Commission has ordered repolling in 10 booths in Hooghly, 28 booths in West Midnapore, 52 booths in Coochbehar, 63 booths in Murshidabad, 60 booths in Nadia, 59 booths in North 24 Parganas, 55 booths in Malda, 73 booths in Uttar Dinajpur, 26 in South 24 Pargans, among others.

Counting of Gram Panchayats will be held first, followed by that of Panchayat Samiti and Zilla Parishad.

Stay tuned for live updates:

Newest First Oldest First
11:44 PM, 17 May
The ruling Trinamool Congress on Thursday headed for a comfortable win in West Bengal's rural polls, bagging 19,394 seats in gram panchayats.
8:20 PM, 17 May
TMC has emerged victorious in 90% seats despite the opposition parties coming together. This shows how strong we are at the grassroot level, says West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee
8:10 PM, 17 May
Of 621 Zilla Parishad seats, TMC has won 351, while BJP is leading in 9. The Left and Congress are leading in 2 and 4 seats respectively. Meanwhile, out of the 6,123 panchayat samiti seats that went to polls, TMC has won 2,543 seats and BJP just 162. The Left and Congress have bagged 79 and 67 seats respectively. Coming to gram panchayats, out of 31,802 seats, TMC has won a whopping 21,148 seats and BJP 1,393 seats. The tally for Left and Congress stands at 314 and 219 respectively.
7:30 PM, 17 May
BJP is giving a tough fight to the TMC in the newly formed district of Jhargram.
7:30 PM, 17 May
At the zilla parishad level, TMC has won 20 seats and are leading in 22.
7:02 PM, 17 May
Commission ordered re-polling at Part no 79/80 of Fulbari-1 in Jalpaiguri District. Counting agent of BJP candidate Doli Sutradhar had alleged that he was attacked by TMC supporters who also looted ballot papers at the counting room.
6:30 PM, 17 May
The inroads made by the BJP are significant and it may have an impact on the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. The BJP had won 2 Lok Sabha seats in 2014, and since then the rise of the saffron party has been sort of meteoric. The BJP has not only dethroned the Left from second spot but has also been able to build a solid vote bank for itself. The speculations are that the BJP may manage to win even 4 seats from West Bengal where the BJP has never tasted success.
6:29 PM, 17 May
TMC was also ahead in 2,317 gram panchayat seats for which counting is in progress, reported PTI.
6:12 PM, 17 May
Overall, TMC is winning/leading in 2,103 Gram panchayat seats.
6:00 PM, 17 May
In Zilla Parishad polls, the trends for 290 seats are clearly available. TMC is leading in all these 290 seats.
6:00 PM, 17 May
In Panchayat Samiti, the TMC has won/leading in all 156 seats for which results have been declared. Many seats went to polls uncontested. Polling was held in 330 Panchayat Samiti seats.
5:55 PM, 17 May
In Gram Panchayat, clear trends are available for 1905 out of 3215 seats. The TMC is leading in 1719 seats, LF in 10 seats and BJP in 137 seats.
3:29 PM, 17 May
TMC wins Ranigunj Panchayat Samiti in Paschim Burdwan district which falls under Union Minister Babul Supriyo's Lok Sabha constituency.
3:28 PM, 17 May
Counting stopped in Nadia district's Majdia from where a video surfaced which showed persons entering counting centre and casting ballots on a counting day.
3:28 PM, 17 May
Gram Panchayat (wins+leads) results till now: TMC: 932; BJP: 82; Congress: 08; Left Front: 07; Others: 33
2:35 PM, 17 May
Security Personnel lathi charge TMC and BJP workers who clashed outside a counting centre in Birbhum.
2:09 PM, 17 May
TMC workers begin celebration.
1:57 PM, 17 May
According to the SEC, the TMC has won 2,467 gram panchayat seats and is leading in 2,683 seats. The BJP has won 386 seats and is leading in 231 seats while the CPI(M) won 94 seats and is leading in 163 seats, the officials said.
1:47 PM, 17 May
The ruling Trinamool Congress surged ahead by registering victory in over 2,400 gram panchayat seats, according to the results available till 12 noon, State Election Commission officials said.
1:20 PM, 17 May
Gram panchayat results till 12:30 pm: TMC: 706; BJP: 58; Congress: 08; Left Front: 06 and Others: 29.
12:52 PM, 17 May
The Congress has alleged that the TMC is behind the shooting incident in North Dijnapur which left 2 one injured. One of the injured is said to be a Congress worker.
12:48 PM, 17 May
A video has emerged which shows some persons entering the counting centre and marking ballots in Majdia, Nadia district.
12:28 PM, 17 May
In West Midnapore, out of 665 seats, the TMC is ahead in 608, BJP in 42 and the Left in 3. In Malda, the TMC is ahead in 247 seats so far, BJP in 21 while Left is ahead in 5. In Jhargram gram panchayat, the TMC is ahead in 190 seats, BJP in 51 and Left in 14.
12:23 PM, 17 May
Independent candidates are leading in 10 Gram Panchayat across West Bengal. In Alipurduar the All India Trinamool Congress is leading in 70 gram panchayat while the BJP in 25, reported News 18.
12:14 PM, 17 May
In Gram Panchayats, the TMC has bagged 404 seats while the BJP is a distant second with 20 seats. Congress has, meanwhile, won 6 seats.
12:11 PM, 17 May
Two people were shot at in North Dinajpur allegedly by Trinamool Congress workers and several vehicles were ransacked.
11:37 AM, 17 May
Out of the total 31,814 that were contested for, TMC has won 110 and is leading on 1,208, BJP has won 4 and is leading on 81, while CPI(M) has won 3 seats and has a lead on 58. Counting in progress, reported ANI.
11:28 AM, 17 May
Out of the total 31,814 that were contested for, TMC has won 110 and is leading on 1,208, BJP has won 4 & is leading on 81, while CPI(M) has won 3 seats, leading on 58. Counting in progress.
10:40 AM, 17 May
Two people are reportedly injured in North Dinajpur's Chopra in poll related incident. The tensions are running high in the region.
10:26 AM, 17 May
Police has seizes 40 mobile phones from a counting centre set up at Jalpaiguri's Polytechnic Institute, reported ANI. It was earlier decided that, barring observers and counting officers, mobile phones shall not be allowed inside the counting centres.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more