• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

West Bengal elections 2021: Ramdas Athawale's RPI to contest 15-20 seats, support BJP

Google Oneindia News

Kolkata, Mar 12: Ahead of the upcoming West Bengal Assembly elections 2021, Republican Party of India (RPI) chief Ramdas Athawale has announced that his party would contest the State Assembly elections. Athawale said in Mumbai today that the RP is likely to fight on 15-20 seats.


Athawale said that his party would support the BJP in West Bengal. Noting that the people of West Bengal want change, Athawale said the BJP will unseat Mamata Banerjee from the West Bengal chief minister's chair in the upcoming polls.

West Bengal election 2021: Jitin Prasada 'upset' over delay in Congress' candidates listWest Bengal election 2021: Jitin Prasada 'upset' over delay in Congress' candidates list

"Looking at the situation in West Bengal, I think BJP will come into power. Mamata Banerjee has been in power for 10 years, now people want change. Republican Party of India will contest on 15-20 seats and support BJP there," the RPI chief said.

Athawale also questioned over the alleged conspiracy and attack theory being floated by the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) after CM Banerjee was injured in Nandigram on Wednesday evening. The union minister pointed out that Banerjee has never been attacked before in Bengal and it was difficult for the same to happen now.

"I don't know who attacked Mamata Banerjee or what was the plan. It should be investigated. I don't think there is any politics involved. She wasn't attacked ever before, how can someone do it now," Athawale told the media.

Full list of Congress star campaigners for West Bengal electionsFull list of Congress star campaigners for West Bengal elections

Athawale was speaking to the press in Mumbai after receiving the first dose of COVID-19 vaccine at JJ Hospital in Mumbai. The minister got vaccinated against the COVID-19 disease along with his wife Seema Athawale.

It may be noted that the BJP has emerged as the main challenger to the incumbent TMC in the eight-phase West Bengal Legislative Assembly Election 2021 beginning March 27. The results will be announced on May 2.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X