• search
For Lucknow Updates
Allow Notification  

UP Minister's logic: 'If we can organise Kumbh Mela, Aero India is no big deal'

By Vikas

Lucknow, Aug 14: Amid speculation that Aero India show could be shifted from Bengaluru to Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh Aviation Minister on Tuesday gave a weird logic and compared organising of a mega air show to making arrangements for a mass pilgrimage - the Kumbh Mela.

UP Aviation Minister Nand Gopal Gupta (Image courtesy - ANI/Twitter)

There have been reports that the biennial event -- considered the largest aerospace exhibition in Asia -- may be organised at the Bakshi Ka Talab air force base in Lucknow in October.

Defence Ministry yet to decide on venue for next edition of Aero India
The minister did not stop at that and in bid to further strengthen his state's case said that UP has everything as it was 'birthplace of Lord Rama and Lord Krishna'.

"UP mein Bhagwan Ram aur Sri Krishna ki janambhoomi hai. To yahan par sab kuch hai. Itna bada Kumbh Mela hone jaa rha hai.Hum vo tayari kar sakte hain to Aero Show ki tayari mein aisa kuch ni hai (UP is the birthplace of Lord Rama and Lord Krishna. So there is everything. A massive event like like Kumbh Mela is organised here. If we can organise Kumbh, then Aero india is nothing)," UP Aviation Minister Nand Gopal Gupta told ANI.

CM Kumaraswamy asks PM Modi not to shift Aero India out of Bengaluru
Aero India has traditionally been organised at Indian Air Force's Yelahanka air base on the outskirts of Bengaluru. At an event on Saturday, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath made a request to Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman to select Lucknow as the venue for the Aero India.

Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy yesterday sent a letter to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, insisting that Bengaluru would be the "best choice" for the event.

Lucknow Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Raj Nath Singh BJP Winner 5,61,106 55% 2,72,749
Prof. Rita Bahuguna Joshi INC Runner Up 2,88,357 28% 0
Lal Ji Tandon BJP Winner 2,04,028 35% 40,901
Rita Bahuguna Joshi INC Runner Up 1,63,127 28% 0
Atal Bihari Vajpayee BJP Winner 3,24,714 56% 2,18,375
Madhu Gupta SP Runner Up 1,06,339 18% 0
Atal Bihari Vajpayee BJP Winner 3,62,709 48% 1,23,624
Dr Karan Singh INC Runner Up 2,39,085 32% 0
Atal Bihari Vajpayee BJP Winner 4,31,738 58% 2,16,263
Muzaffar Ali SP Runner Up 2,15,475 29% 0
Atal Bihari Vajpayee BJP Winner 3,94,865 52% 1,18,671
Raj Babbar SP Runner Up 2,76,194 37% 0
Atal Bihari Vajpayee BJP Winner 1,94,886 51% 1,17,303
Ranjeet Singh INC Runner Up 77,583 20% 0
Mandhata Singh JD Winner 1,10,433 34% 15,296
Dauji INC Runner Up 95,137 29% 0
Sheila Kaul INC Winner 1,69,260 56% 1,22,120
Mohd. Yunus Saleem LKD Runner Up 47,140 16% 0
Sheila Kaul INC(I) Winner 1,23,231 48% 30,382
Mahmood Butt JNP Runner Up 92,849 36% 0
Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna BLD Winner 2,42,362 73% 1,65,345
Sheila Kaul INC Runner Up 77,017 23% 0
Sheela Kaul INC Winner 1,71,019 72% 1,19,201
Purshottam Das Kapoor BJS Runner Up 51,818 22% 0
A. N. Mulla IND Winner 92,535 37% 20,972
V. R. Mohan INC Runner Up 71,563 28% 0
B. K. Dhaon INC Winner 1,16,637 50% 30,017
Atal Bihari Vajpayee JS Runner Up 86,620 37% 0
Pulin Behari Banerji INC Winner 69,519 41% 12,485
Atal Bihari Vajpayee BJS Runner Up 57,034 33% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more