• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Tripura elections 2018: Dy CM Jishnu Deb Burman wins Charilam seat

By Chennabasaveshwar

BJP candidate and Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Deb Burman won the Charilam assembly seat in Tripura. He is also the state BJP vice-president. The deputy chief minister, a member of Tripura's royal family, was sworn in by Governor Tathagata Roy on March 9, along with Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and others.

Tripura Deouty CM Jishnu Deb Burman

Deb Burman was pitted against Arjun Debbarma of the Congress, Uma Shankar Debbarma of the Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura (INPT) and Independent contestant Jyotilal Debbarma.

After the death of Ramendra Narayan Debbarma on February 11, the CPI(M) had fielded Palash Debbarma from the seat. However, on Friday, the party withdrew his candidature alleging large-scale post-poll violence in the constituency.

The election of 59 seats for the 60-member Assembly was held on February 18. The BJP and the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) combine swept to power in the state winning 43 out of the 59 seats for which elections were held.

(With agency inputs)

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more