TMC bags Shyampukur, Chowringhee seats in Kolkata

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, May 19: Trinamool Congress on Thursday, May 19 won both Shyampukur and Chowringhee Assembly seats by comfortable margins even as the party is leading in 212 seats across the state.

TMC's Nayana Bandopadhyay won the Chowringhee seat by a margin of 13,211 votes, defeating the candidate of the Congress-Left alliance Somendranath Mitra. Mitra belongs to Congress.


Shashi Panja (TMC) won from Shyampukur Assembly constituency by 13,155 votes defeating the Congress-Left front nominee Piyali Pal of the Forward Bloc.

As counting of votes progressed, TMC remained ahead of its rivals leading in 212 seats, whereas the Congress-Left combine is ahead in 68 seats and BJP in seven.


Please Wait while comments are loading...