TDP sweeps MLC polls, breaches Jagan's strongholds

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

The Telugu Desam party managed a clean sweep in the Andhra Pradesh MLC elections on Monday, winning all 9 seats. While Andhra Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu's party won the seats from Srikakulam, East Godavari, Chittoor, Anantapur and two seats of West Godavari unanimously, they managed to bag seats in Kadapa, Kurnool and Nellore districts that are traditional strongholds of Jagan Mohan Reddy's YSR Congress.

TDP sweeps MLC polls, breaches Jagan's strongholds

The wins in the elections under the local bodies quota now take TDP's MLC strength to 15. The biggest blow to the YSR Congress came in Kadapa where its candidate, Y S Vivekananda Reddy, a former minister and uncle of YSR Congress chief Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, lost. The brother of former chief minister of united Andhra Pradesh, Y S Rajasekhara Reddy lost to TDP candidate Mareddy Ravindranath Reddy by a margin of 33 votes.

In Nellore, TDP's Vakati Narayana Reddy defeated YSR Congress' Anam Vijayakumar Reddy by a margin of 85 votes. Jagan's party's Gowru Venkata Reddy lost to TDP's Shilpa Chakrapani by a mere 43 votes in Kurnool. All three districts traditionally considered a bastion of the YSR Congress were lost to TDP while other seats were won by Naidu's party unopposed.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...