• search
For Kolkata Updates
Allow Notification  

Raids carried out at properties linked to former CBI chief Nageshwar Rao


New Delhi, Feb 8: Raids were carried out on Friday in Kolkata at properties reportedly linked to former interim CBI director M Nageshwar Rao.

Former interim CBI director M Nageshwar Rao

Kolkata police conducted raids at two different locations, reported ANI. One of the locations is allegedly Nageshwar Rao's wife's company Angelina Mercantile Pvt Ltd at Salt Lake.

While initial reports stated that AMPL was owned by Rao's wife Mannem Sandhya, the CBI officer in a statement issued a denial. In a statement earlier, he had also explained the financial transactions, a News 18 report said.

Saying that the firm was not related to his family members, Rao stated he had already clarified regarding this issue through a signed press statement on October 30, 2018.

"Further, complete details of all property of my family and mine have already been submitted in my annual property return submitted to the government," he added.

IPS officer M Nageshwar Rao was appointed as the interim director of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) in October last year after then CBI chief Alok Verma and his deputy -- special director Rakesh Asthana -- were sent on leave following a feud between them

[SC seeks personal appearance of former interim CBI director M Nageswara Rao]

Nageshwar Rao is an Indian Police Services (IPS) officer of the 1986 batch from the Odisha cadre.

The Supreme Court on Thursday (Feb 7) severely reprimanded former CBI interim director M Nageshwar Rao and asked him to appear before it in connection with the transfer of former Joint Director A K Sharma, who was probing the Muzaffarpur shelter home abuse case. Supreme Court says that former CBI interim director M Nageswara Rao has prima facie committed contempt of court by transferring CBI officer AK Sharma, who was probing Muzaffarpur shelter home rape case, without taking court's consent.

Kolkata Dakshin Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Subrata Bakshi AITC Winner 4,31,715 38% 1,36,339
Tathagata Roy BJP Runner Up 2,95,376 26% 0
Mamata Banerjee AITC Winner 5,76,045 57% 2,19,571
Rabin Deb CPM Runner Up 3,56,474 35% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more