• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Punjab Election Result 2017: Resounding victory for Congress, a 'sad' day for SAD-BJP


The three-cornered contest will draw to a close when Punjab elections results will be announced before the end of the day on Saturday. The battle between the Congress-led by Capt Amarinder Singh and the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party alliance led by Parkash Singh Badal got interesting with Aam Aadmi Party's entry into the poll fray.

Click Here for the LIVE Updates:

The SAD-BJP alliance managed to form the government in Punjab in 2012 with a resounding victory of 56 seats of the SAD and 12 by the BJP in the 117 constituencies. The Congress managed to win 43 seats during the 2012 assembly elections. With the entry of AAP, the dynamics have changed drastically.

[Exit Poll 2017 at a glance]

Catch all the updates for the Punjab assembly election results 2017 right here:

03:15 pm: SAD's Sukhbir Singh Badal beats AAP's Bhagwant Mann with over 18000 votes in Jalalabad constituency

2:36 pm: SAD's Bikram Singh Majithia wins from Majitha constituency

2:29 pm: Congress' Navjot Singh Sidhu wins from Amritsar East constituency

02:15 pm: AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal says he respects the verdict of the people. State affairs in-charge Sanjay Singh also tweets on similar lines.

1:50 pm: AAP's HS Phoolka wins from Dakha

1:38 pm: Tomorrow I will submit my resignation to the Governor: Parkash Singh Badal

01:16 pm: Captain Amarinder Singh wins Patiala assembly constituency

12:41 pm: 'Kejriwal, a summer storm and he is gone', said Capt Amarinder Singh

12: 04 pm: People have chosen the right path by defeating the enemies: Navjot Singh Sidhu

11:49 am: Congress' Jagbir Brar leaves counting centre after sixth round as SAD candidate Gurpratap Singh Wadala is ahead by around 7000 votes.

11: 49 am: Bhagwant Mann now leading in second position in Jalalabad. Sukhbir still leading.

11:37 am: Celebrations outside Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu's residence in Amritsar

11: 29 am: Congress leads 70, AAP with 23, SAD-BJP with 21 and others in 3

11:20 am: Latest trends from Punjab: Congress-72, AAP-25, SAD+BJP-19

10:59 am: Congress is leading on 69 seats, way above the majority mark

10:35 am: Congress leads in 67 of 117 seats

10:26 am: SAD's Bikram Singh Majithia leading from Majitha by 6549 votes

10:23 am: Five-time MLA Rakesh Pandey (Cong) trailing from Ludhiana north

10:19 am: Latest trends from Punjab: Congress-66, AAP-24, SAD+BJP-28

10:17 am: Punjab Congress vice-president Sunil Jakhar trailing from Abohar by 3485 votes

10:14 am: Punjab Congress vice-president Sunil Jakhar trailing from Abohar by 3485 votes

10:13 am: Congress leading in Punjab: Party workers celebrate in Chandigarh

10:12 am: Gen JJ Singh leaves counting centre from Patiala

10:07 am: Congress's Navjot Singh Sidhu leading from Amritsar East seat

10:00 am: Congress-60, SAD+BJP-29,AAP-25,Others-1. 59 is required to form the Government

9:56 am: AAP which was projected to win Punjab, is now trailing at the third place with leads on 21 seats.

9:54 am: Amrinder is trailing in a constituency where he contested against CM Badal at Lambi.

09:49 am: Congress-55, SAD+BJP-26,AAP-25,Others-1

9:47 am: AAP's Gurpreet Singh Ghughi leading from Batala

9.30 am: Congress leading in 51 seats, AAP in 22 and SAD+ in 13

9.26 am: Bickram Singh Majithia leading in the Majitha seat by 1000 votes according to EC

9.23 am: Trends: SAD-15, Congress-27, AAP-18, BJP-1, Other-1

9.21 am: Trends out for 57 seats in Pujnab. Congress is leading on 42 seats, the AAP on 16 and the Akali Dal-BJP on 10 seats

9.11 am: Congress is leading on 32 seats, the AAP on 13 and the SAD-BJP on 5

9.09 am: Live Punjab: 'Jai Ho' outside Arvind Kejriwal home as Aam Aadmi Party hopes to win

9.05 am: Leads: SAD-4, Congress 10, AAP 6, Other 1

9.02 am: Captain Amarinder Singh leading by 3,500 votes from Patiala seat

8.58 am: Capt Amarinder Singh trailing from Lambi

8.54 am: Leads: Congress on 18 seats; SAD-BJP on 3; AAP+ on 5

8.48 am: Leads: Congress on 13 seats; SAD-BJP on 2; AAP+ on 2

8.42 am: Parkash Singh Badal leads, Capt Amarinder leads in second, AAP's Jarnail Singh leads in third position

8.38 am: SAD-BJP leads in one seat in Punjab.

8.35 am: Congress leads in one seat in Punjab.

8:23 am: Counting of votes underway in Punjab, postal ballots being counted first

8:06 am: Counting begins at 54 centres in 27 locations of Punjab

7:48 am: Bhagwant Mann is believed to be the chief ministerial candidate for Punjab . AAP assures to provide free electricity, water and 300MB Internet to everyone.

7:46 am: 'SAD America' says the team behind is ready to bet $100,000 (Rs 66.5 lakh) on a victory for SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal from Jalalabad.

7:30 am: AAP Punjab in-charge Sanjay Singh says he is confident that the party will win the state with a comfortable majority.

7:29 am: Counting for assembly elections 2017 will begin at 8 am. Trends of the election results are likely expected by 11 am.

7:18 am: Capt, Amarinder Singh is the only possible chief ministerial candidate from Congress. Parkash Singh Badal and Sukhbir Singh Badal are two candidates from SAD-BJP. Bhagwat Mann and Gurpreet Singh Ghuggi are the candidates from AAP. From the Left Party, Awaaz-e-Punjab candidates like Dharamvir Gandhi and Sucha Singh Chhotepur are the candidates in focus.

7:08 am: Heavy security arrangement in all the vote counting centres across the state.

6:57 am: Exit polls indicate AAP and Congress in a neck to neck fight in Punjab.

Assembly Poll Results 2012: Punjab
Parties Won
SAD 56
INC 46
BJP 12
Others 03

6.37 am: Elaborate security arrangements at the counting centres, EC bans the use of mobile phones in the centres

6.23 am: Counting to begin shortly, to decide the fate of AAP, SAD-BJP and Cong

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more