• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

People have reaffirmed faith in Congress: Surjewala on Gurdaspur win


Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala on Sunday said people have reaffirmed their faith in policies and programmes of the party and expressed disappointment with the "all talk-no action" approach of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Randeep Singh Surjewala

"People have reaffirmed their faith in the policies and programmes of the Congress and the state government. The Congress had shown commitment to fight hegemony and goondaism of the SAD-BJP. The people have therefore voted decisively," Surjewala, the AICC communications in-charge, said.

Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar on Sunday won the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll by defeating his nearest rival, BJP nominee Swaran Salaria, with a margin of 1,93,219 votes.

"The victory margin reflects the huge disappointment among the people towards the Modi government at the Centre.

UPA has won all four LS byelections in 2017 - Amritsar, Srinagar, Malappuram and now Gurdaspur," Surjewala, who is also MLA from Kaithal in Haryana, said.

"This proves the disenchantment of masses with the 'jumlas' of the Prime Minister and the all talk-no action approach of the PM. People of this country are ready for a change and these byelections are magnifying the rejection of the Modi brand of politics," he claimed.

Congress leader and Rajya Sabha MP Pratap Singh Bajwa dubbed the Gurdaspur victory as key to "Congress revival" in whole of India ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

He said the victory will be a great morale booster for the Congress.

"It is also reaffirming of people's faith in Congress government in Punjab," said Bajwa, who had defeated BJP's Vinod Khanna in Gurdaspur in 2009 Lok Sabha polls.

Bajwa said the BJP's defeat in Gurdaspur polls was also rejection of the demonetisation and GST as brought by the BJP.

"From Gurdaspur, you can also visualise the sentiment of traders, shopkeepers and farmers. It is also rejection of demonetisation and GST which they have brought. Even their traditional voter is unhappy with them. Out of nine assembly segments in Gurdaspur, we have won all nine," he said.

Bajwa claimed that losing Gurdaspur by a huge margin would also be "great setback for the BJP in coming Himachal elections".

Aam Aadmi Party nominee Major General (Retd) Suresh Khajuria was at the third spot with 23,579 votes.

The Gurdaspur LS seat had fallen vacant after the death of BJP MP Vinod Khanna in April.

Khanna was a four-time MP from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more