• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Modi cabinet reshuffle: Nine new ministers to take oath at 10:30 am today


The much-awaited reshuffle in the Modi cabinet will take place on Sunday at 10:30 am at the Rashtrapati Bhavan and their portfolios are likely to be announced later in the day. Out of those who will take oath for their respective ministers, names of nine have been declared already.

Modi cabinet rejig: Swearing in 10:30 am

It earlier reported that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah will hold a meeting on Saturday evening to finalise the cabinet list. It is, however, not clear if the meeting would take place. Reports say that Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari will retain his portfolio.

Several ministers - Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Sanjiv Kumar Balyan, Faggan Singh Kulaste and Mahendra Nath Pandey, Kalraj Mishra - had resigned ahead of the rejig

NDTV, while quoting sources, said that Modi is "very happy" with the performance of Gadkari. The BJP is said to have considered moving Gadkari to Railways Ministry, but wasn't keen to take the responsibility. "It is PM Modi's prerogative who should be given what responsibility. He is the one to decide on tomorrow's (Cabinet reshuffle)," Gadkari told the media on Saturday.

JD (U) may not join the cabinet as was earlier reported. Nitish Kumar, in fact, said he had no information about the cabinet reshuffle.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more