• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Meghalaya elections 2018 : 67 per cent voting till 5 pm, 88 VVPAT malfunctioned

By Chennabasaveshwar

Voting in northeastern state Meghalaya- 'abode of clouds' was concluded on Tuesday evening at 4 PM. Voting was held in 59 constituencies between 7 am and 5 pm. According to Election Commission, 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded in Meghalaya.

Meghalaya CM Mukul Sangma

CEO Meghalaya F R Kharkonger, said, "By and large polling was peaceful in all 11 districts. 88 VVPAT malfunctioned in Meghalaya polls"

"No polls-related violence were reported," he added.

A total of 372 candidates are in the fray after three of them withdrew their documents. Total 32 female candidates while the rest 340 are males. The campaign for the polls in Meghalaya came to an end on Sunday evening.

The Congress has fielded 59 candidates, while BJP 47 candidates. 31 women and 80 Independents are in the fray. Around 18.09 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in 3,025 polling stations in the state.

Meghalaya CEO F R Kharkongor told PTI, a total 106 companies of central armed police forces (CAPF) have been deployed along with state armed personnel and police especially in troubled Garo Hills region for peaceful polling in the state.

Stay tuned for live updates:

Read More

Prime Minister Narendra Modi campaigned in the state ruled by Congress the last 10 years. PM Modi during the campaign in promised 'Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas'.

He said, "Give us a chance to serve the state. We will ensure good governance guided by the philosophy of 'Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas'. The current government has wasted your 50 years. I urge you to give us a chance to serve the state."

Also, BJP President Amit Shah had asked the people of Meghalaya to oust the Congress government led by chief minister Mukul Sangma as he accused the ruling party leaders of pocketing funds meant for development.

It may be recalled that Congress President Rahul Gandhi's reportedly expensive became an issue during his poll campaign. The BJP, which is trying its best to unseat the incumbent Congress from Meghalaya, attacked Rahul with "soot-boot ki sarkar" jibe, taking a page out of the Congress president's book.

On the other hand, Congress promised free sanitary napkins to women if they are voted to power in Meghalaya. All India Congress Committee (AICC) Mahila president Sushmita Dev took a jibe at Union Minister Smriti Irani who campaigned in Shillong on Saturday. "We need to ask a lot of questions on the leaders of the BJP who are coming to Meghalaya and talking about the security of women," she added.

Counting of votes will take place on March 3. There will be 13 counting centres in all the 11 districts of the state and two civil sub-divisions. Sohra in East Khasi Hills and Mairang in West Khasi Hill.

Read more: Coverage of Meghalaya Assembly Election

Meghalaya, Nagaland to vote tomorrow: Will BJP increase its presence in Northeast?

Meghalaya Assembly polls: Shashi Tharoor invokes Congress' 'performance record' to counter BJP

Meghalaya elections 2018: PM Modi promises 'Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas

Meghalaya elections 2018: Serious criminal cases against 21; 152 candidates are crorepatis

PM visits Nagaland, Meghalaya: Modi wave sweeps Northeast India?

Meghalaya elections: Is ruling Congress 'sleeping' for 15 years?

Rajnath slams Cong party's 'husband and wife' govt in Meghalaya over healthcare, law and order

Meghalaya elections: NCP candidate Jonathone N Sangma killed in IED blast, say reports

Meghalaya elections 2018: Free sanitary napkins for women if voted to power, says Mahila Congress

Meghalaya Assembly elections: How money is flowing like water to woo voters

Why winning Meghalaya election is so important for BJP

In Meghalaya, Rahul Gandhi attacks RSS, calls it anti-women

Meghalaya Assembly
Party2013Current Standing
CONG2924Election Date : Feb 27 2018
Counting: Mar 03 2018
Total6051 (9 Vacant)

OneIndia News


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Loksabha Results


Arunachal Pradesh






Andhra Pradesh



Dr. Sanjeev Kumar - YSRCP
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more