List of countries which are affected by Zika Virus

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Feb 4: Government of many countries including India have issued a notice urging pregnant women to avoid travelling to countries which have been affected by Zika virus.

The union health ministry of India has urged deferment or cancellation of non-essential travel to Zika-affected countries.


The notice has been issued following the announcement of World Health Organisation (WHO) which on Feb 1 declared Zika virus disease to be a Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC).

What is Zika virus?

Transmitted by daytime-active Aedes Aegypti mosquito, Zika virus was first found in Zika Forest of Uganda. The virus first was isolated in 1947.

The mosquitoes, which carry Zika virus, also carry dengue, chikungunya viruses.

Countries which are affected by Zika virus:

  1. Bolivia
  2. Brazil
  3. Colombia
  4. Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, US territory
  5. Costa Rica
  6. Curacao
  7. Dominican Republic
  8. Ecuador
  9. El Salvador
  10. French Guiana
  11. Guadeloupe
  12. Guatemala
  13. Guyana
  14. Haiti
  15. Honduras
  16. Martinique
  17. Mexico
  18. Nicaragua
  19. Panama
  20. Paraguay
  21. Saint Martin
  22. Suriname
  23. U.S. Virgin Islands
  24. Venezuela
  25. American Samoa (Oceana/Pacific Islands)
  26. Samoa (Oceana/Pacific Islands)
  27. Cape Verde (Africa)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...