• search

Karnataka elections: List of Congress MLAs who did not get a ticket

Subscribe to Oneindia News
For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    There was a banner of revolt within the Congress after the party released the first list of candidates for the Karnataka assembly elections. In the list of 218 candidates, as many as 12 sitting MLAs were not given tickets.

    Karnataka elections: List of Congress MLAs who did not get a ticket

    The high command took into account various factors such as age, health and winnability while denying these candidates a ticket.

    Also Read | Karnataka elections: The sons of these Congress leaders will contest polls

    The revolt, in fact, began even before the list was announced. The supporters of sitting MLA, G H Srinivas, Manohar Tashsildar and H P Rajesh shouted slogans against the party for not giving their leader a ticket. In Hangal, Haveri district, supporters of Tahasildar set many tyres on fire and blocked the traffic movement in the town.

    List of Congress sitting MLAs who were denied a ticket:

    • B M Nagaraj (Siraguppa)
    • N Y Gopalakrishna (Ballari)
    • H P Rajesh (Jagalur)
    • Shivamurthy Naik (Mayakonda)
    • G H Srinivas (Tarikere)
    • K Shadakshari (Tiptur)
    • S Jayanna (Kollegal)
    • B B Chimmankatti (Badami)
    • Makbul S Baghwan (Vijayapura City)
    • R Ramakrishna (Gulbarga Rural)
    • Manohar Tahasildar (Hangal)
    • B N Shivannavar (Byadgi)
    Karnataka Assembly Election dates
    Date of notification April 17
    Last date to file nominations April 24
    Last date to withdraw nominations April 27
    Date of polling May 12
    Date of counting May 15

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more