Jharkhand poll result: BJP-AJSU alliance wins but heavyweight candidates lose

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Dec 24: Though the BJP-AJSU party alliance won absolute majority in the Jharkhand Assembly by winning 42 seats, two of their heavyweight candidates lost the election.

Heavyweight candidates of other parties like the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) and Jai Bharat Samanta Party also lost the election though JVM(P) won eight seats and JBSP won one.

Jharkhand poll result: BJP-AJSU alliance wins but heavyweight candidates lose
Three-times Jharkhand Chief Minister and BJP Jharkhand heavyweight leader Arjun Munda lost the election from his pocket borough Kharasawan seat by over 11,000 votes to his JMM rival Dashrath Gagrai.

Munda, Chief Minister from March 18, 2003 to March 2, 2005, again from March 12, 2005 to September 14, 2006 and from September 11, 2010 to January 18, 2013, was polled 60,036 votes while Gagrai secured 72,002. He had also represented Lok Sabha from Jamshedpur before he took over the reins for the third time.

BJP's alliance partner AJSU party won five seats but party chief Kumar Sudhesh Mahto lost from his home turf of Silli to JMM rival Amit Kumar after representing three times. Mahto, who had been deputy chief minister in the previous BJP and JMM-led governments, could get only 50,007 votes while Kumar who won secured 79,747.

Meanwhile, JVM(P) president and Jharkhand's first chief minister Babulal Marandi lost from both the two seats he contested---Dhanwar and Giridih. Marandi lost the Dhanwar seat to CPI (Marxist-Leninist- Liberation) candidate Raj Kumar Yadav by over 10,000 votes.

In the Giridih seat, Marandi came third after his BJP rival Nirbhay Kumar Shahabadi won and JMM’s Sudivya Kumar came second. Another former chief minister and JBSP chief Madhu Koda lost from the Majhganon seat to his JMM rival Niral Purty by over 11,000 votes. However, Koda’s wife Gita Koda retained the Jaganthpur seat.

The decision to contest at two seats by JMM’s Hemant Soren, who resigned from the post of Chief Minister yesterday, turned out to be wise as he lost from Dumka and won from Barhait.

Last time Soren had won from Dumka that propelled him to the post of deputy chief minister before elevating him to the Chief Minister’s post in the outgoing house.


Please Wait while comments are loading...