J&K polls: Big humiliation for Omar Abdullah, CM loses in Sonawar, wins Beerwah

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Dec 23: In a setback for National Conference, Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah on Tuesday lost from Sonawar assembly seat to his PDP rival Mohammad Ashraf Mir. While Omar won from Beerwah assembly seat by a margin of 1000 votes after getting a tough fight from his Congress rival Nazir Ahmad Khan.

After trailing to Nazir Ahmad Khan, Omar managed to secure the seat by defeating the former. 

Jammu and Kashmir polls: Setback for NC, Omar Abdullah loses from Sonawar.
It seems that the incumbent CM was apprehensive about his winning prospects and that was the reason why he contested from two seats but he has failed to impress the voters of Sonawar who rejected him. It seems the anti-incumbency wave prevalent against him worked against the CM. 

The CM has been facing wide spread criticism on various issues like poverty and law and order condition in the Valley. Also, state government's slow attitude during the recent J&K floods had aggravated public anger against their CM. Experts feel these are the reasons for Omar's big loss.    

Meanwhile, the J&K CM took to Twitter to accept his defeat from Sonawar seat and congratulated PDP's candidate for his victory. 

Main opposition PDP has breached the stronghold of National Conference in prestigious Srinagar Parliamentary constituency by gaining a lead in five seats.

National Conference, which had won all the 10 seats in this Lok Sabha seat in 2008 elections, was trailing in Batmaloo, Sonawar, Hazratbal, Amira Kadal and Zadibal. 

In Zadibal, PDP's Abid Hussain Ansari, kin of late Shia leader Maulvi Ifthikar Ansari, was leading over his National Conference rival by a margin of 1439 votes.

BJP's Neelam Gash was way back at fifth with 190 votes. Asiea of PDP was leading over National Conference leader Syed Akhoon by a small margin of 401 votes in Hazaratbal.

In Amira Kadal, National Conference provincial President Nasir Aslam Wani was trailing from PDP's Altaf Bukhari by a margin of 1173 votes. BJP's Heena Bhat was third with 342 votes.

In neighbouring Batmaloo, sitting National Conference MLA Irfan Shah was trailing from PDP's Noor Mohammed Sheikh by a margin of 3202 votes.

In prestigious Ganderbal assembly seat, Ishfaq Ahmed of National Conference had gained a lead of 42 votes over PDP Qazi Afzal and in Kagan, sitting MLA and minister Altaf Ahmed was leading over PDP's Bashir Ahmed by 438 votes.

National Conference's Shamima Firdous was leading way ahead of her rivals in Habbakadal by polling 3891 votes followed by PDP's Zafar Mehraj with 799 votes at the second place.

BJP's Moti Kaul was way behind at eight position with 178 votes. Sitting MLA and Minister Ali Mohammed Sagar was leading over his PDP rival by 1105 votes in Khanyar while Speaker of present Assembly Mubark Gul was leading over his PDP rival Abdul Mohamamed Wani by 602 votes.

(With inputs from PTI)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...