• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Jai Ram Thakur is the new Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh


Jairam Thakur becomes the chief minister of Himachal Pradesh ending all the speculations and suspense.

Jairam Thakur is the new Himachal Pradesh CM

Thakur is a senior leader in Himachal Pradesh and is elected for his 5th term in Vidhan Sabha. He has experience both in administration as well as in organisation.

Thakur has been a minister in the previous BJP Government. He was also the state unit president between 2006-2009.

In 2013, he contested an unsuccessful Lok Sabha by-election from Mandi in Himachal Pradesh against Virbhadra Singh's wife Pratibha Singh. He has also served as state party president from 2007 to 2009. His term as president is considered as non-controversial and acceptable.

The BJP won 44, while the Congress won 21 seats in the elections to 68-member Himachal Pradesh Assembly, the results of which were declared on December 18.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more