• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

In UP, BJP doesn’t fidget with the math, retains all MPs but six


New Delhi, Mar 22: The BJP while releasing its first list of candidates dropped just 6 sitting MPs from Uttar Pradesh. This has come contrary to speculation that the BJP may drop most of its MPs from Uttar Pradesh for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections.

In UP, BJP doesn’t fidget with the math, retains all MPs but six

The party has once again fielded Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi and Smriti Irani from Amethi.

The party has also decided to go with V K Singh and Mahesh Sharma once again. The other MPs who have been re-nominated include Hema Malini and Sakshi Maharaj.

The MPs to be dropped are Satyapal Saini, Krishna Raj, Ram Shankar Katheria, Anshul Verma, Anju Bala and Chaudhary Babulal.

Full list of BJP candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

They have been replaced by Parmeshwar Lal Saini in Sambhal, Arun Sagar in Shajahanpur (reserved), S P Singh Baghel, Agra, Jai Prakash Rawat, Ashok Rawatin Misirikh (reserved) and Rajkumar Singh, Fatepur Sikri.

Earlier it was speculated that the BJP would make major changes to its list in UP. The speculation came about following the tie up between the SP and BSP, a coalition that is expected to hurt the BJP's arithmetic in a state, which it had won handsomely in 2014.

UP sends 80 lawmakers to the Lok Sabha and in 2014, the BJP had won 73 seats.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more