• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Gujarat Municipal Poll: Out of 75 Nagarpalikas BJP wins 47, down from 59 in 2013

By Chennabasaveshwar

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 47 and Congress won 16 of 75 Nagarpalikas on Monday. NCP won 1 and BSP 1 and (in) 6 no one got majority and independents got four. The 75 state municipal corporations that went to polls saw a voter turnout of 64.4 per cent.

In the last elections, BJP had won 59 of the 75 municipal corporations. Congress added fiver more nagapalikas to its tally.

"Win in the number of nagapalikas and the total number of councillors has gone up for the Congress. The party has kept up its impressive run after the assembly elections," Congress leader Alpesh Thakor said.

The BJP, on its part, said the results proved that the voters have rejected the Congress party.

The poll was held on February 17 in 28 districts of Gujarat. Rajkot was reported to have the lowest turnout at 50.17 per cent while Dahod stands at 76.67 per cent, the highest recorded in the state.

Gujarat Municipal Poll Live: BJP wins 26 municipalities, Congress wins 8

Newest First Oldest First
5:55 PM, 19 Feb
Final tally:BJP has won 47 and Congress won 16 of 75 Nagarpalikas on Monday. NCP won 1 and BSP 1 and (in) 6 no one got majority and independents got 4.
5:31 PM, 19 Feb
The BJP repeated its winning performance in the municipal polls, but saw a decline in its seats
4:42 PM, 19 Feb
Out of 72 Nagarpalikas BJP wins 47, Congress 16.
4:31 PM, 19 Feb
Happy with Congress' performance,says Congress MLA Alpesh Thakor
3:36 PM, 19 Feb
In Mahisagar district, Congress wins Lunawada Nagarpalika. Congress wins 14 seats, BJP 11,NCP wins 1 seat and Others win 2 seats.
3:00 PM, 19 Feb
Panchmahal district: BJP wins Halol Nagarpalika. BJP wins 25 out of 36 seats. Congress 7 and Others win 4 seats.
2:38 PM, 19 Feb
BJP wins 1173 Nagarpalika seats, Congress 617
2:08 PM, 19 Feb
Rajkot district: BJP wins Jetpur Nagarpalika. Out of 44 seats, BJP wins 29, Congress 3 and Others win 12 seats.
2:04 PM, 19 Feb
BJP wins Santrampur Nagarpalika in Mahisagar district. BJP wins 14 seats, Congress 5 and others win 5 seats.
1:20 PM, 19 Feb
As per Election Commission Report BJP wins 928 seats, Congress 502 seats and Others win 42 seats. BJP wins 26 Nagarpalika and Congress wins 8
1:12 PM, 19 Feb
Congress wins Bhayavadar Nagarpalika. Out of 24 seats Congress wins 15 and BJP wins only 9 seats.
1:09 PM, 19 Feb
BJP wins 11 seats in Mahudha Nagarpalika. Congress wins 5 seats, and 8.
1:07 PM, 19 Feb
No clear winner in Chhota Udaipur Nagarpalika. Congress wins 8 seats, BSP wins 9, BJP 4 and Others win 5 seats. Bharatiya Tribal Party (BTP) wins 2 out of 28 seats.
12:57 PM, 19 Feb
BJP wins Balasinor Nagarpalika in Mahisagar district. BJP wins 14 seats, Congres 9, Samajwadi Party 4 seats and NCP 1
12:53 PM, 19 Feb
Congress wins Chorwad Nagarpalika in Junagadh district. Congress-17, BJP-7
12:51 PM, 19 Feb
BJP wins Kheralu Nagarpalika in Mehsana district. BJP wins 16 out of 24 seats, NCP 2 and others 6. Mehsana district was the epicentre of Patel community movement for reservation led by Hardik Patel.
12:37 PM, 19 Feb
In the Sabarkantha municipality, the BJP has bagged 17 seats, while Congress has grabbed 3 seats.
12:28 PM, 19 Feb
BJP is leading in 41 municipalities, while Congress in 27.
12:15 PM, 19 Feb
BJP wins 27 out of 28 seats in Vadnagar Nagarpalika,PM Narendra Modi's hometown.
12:13 PM, 19 Feb
Congress wins 13 out of 28 seats of Dhandhuka Nagarpalika. BJP wins 9 seats and Others win 1 seat. Counting underway for 1 seat.
12:12 PM, 19 Feb
BJP wins 20 out of 36 seats of Upleta Nagarpalika in Rajkot district
12:11 PM, 19 Feb
BJP wins 16 out of 28 seats of Chhaya Nagarplika, Congress wins 12 seats in Porbandar district
11:57 AM, 19 Feb
BJP wins Chalala municipality from Congress, retains power in Jafrabad and Lathi municipalities in Amreli district.
11:48 AM, 19 Feb
The BJP wins Dwarka municipality in Devbhumi Dwarka district, retains Gadhda municipality in Botad district
11:43 AM, 19 Feb
Congress wins Salaya municipality in Devbhumi Dwarka district.The civic body dominated by minority community voters
11:36 AM, 19 Feb
The BJP is leading in Dwarka municipality in Dwarka district, Congress has won one ward and leading in the other in Mehmedabad municipality
11:14 AM, 19 Feb
BJP leading in 37 municipalities and Congress leading in 26 municipalities
11:13 AM, 19 Feb
BJP and Congress win four each out of 11 municipalities. Others win three municipalities.
11:08 AM, 19 Feb
BJP wins Jasdan municipality in Rajkot district by winning 23 seats out of 28. Congress had managed to retain Jasdan Assembly seat in the last assembly elections.
11:07 AM, 19 Feb
The Congress is currently leading in Mahuda and Chaklasi Municipalities in Kheda district.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more