• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Gujarat assembly elections 2017: BJP renominates 60 legislators

By Chennabasaveshwar

Sixty legislators have been renominated in the first list of 70 BJP candidates announced on Friday. The list betrays the speculation about the introduction of fresh faces to beat anti-incumbency in the upcoming assembly elections.

Gujarat assembly elections 2017: BJP renominates 60 legislators

Among the 70 candidates, five Congress MLAs who defected just before the Rajya Sabha election in August, have been given tickets.

Chief minister Vijay Rupani and Gujarat BJP president Jitu Vaghani figure in the first list of candidates. The five Congress MLAs who were among the 14 to join the BJP and have been nominated by the BJP are Ramsinh Parmar, chairman of Amul Dairy, Raghavji Patel, Dharmendra Jadeja, Mansinh Chauhan and C.K. Raulji.


Yesterday's announcement was in a departure from the Modi-era practice of declaring the names all 182 candidates.

The Congress is yet to announce its list for the upcoming elections that are expected to be a mother of all electoral battles.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more