• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Gorakhpur, Phoolpur Lok Sabha by-elections: BJP announces candidates

By Vikas

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced the names of candidates contesting Phoolpur and Gorakhpur Parliamentary by-elections for which the voting will be held on March 11. The BJP was under pressure to to announce their candidates as just a day was left in filing nominations.

The BJP will field KS Patel from Phoolpur and Upendra Shukla from Gorakhpur.

Image for representation only

The seats were left vacant after UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya resigned from Gorakhpur and Phoolpur constituencies to became members of Legislative Council.

Main opposition parties like the Congress and Samajwadi Party have already made public their entrants for the by-elections to be held on March 11.

From the Congress, Manish Mishra will be the candidate from Phoolpur while Surhita Chatterjee Karim will contest from Gorakhpur.

On Sunday, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav announced that his party will contest the Gorakhpur bypolls in alliance with Peace Party and Nishad Party. The alliance announced Praveen Kumar Nishad as their candidate. Praveen happens to be the son of Nishad Party chief Sanjay Nishad.

The counting for both seats will be held on March 14.

OneIndia News


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more