Goa Election Results 2017: Goa gives a fractured verdict

Subscribe to Oneindia News

The results here will decide the fate of Arvind Kejriwal's party's status as a 'national party'. After defying all odds, Kejriwal's AAP swept the Delhi assembly elections in 2015, and now they are eyeing to repeat the same magic in Goa and Punjab - this is where it is to be decided if the AAP indeed is a national party.


Click Here for the LIVE Updates:

The BJP is already in power in the state, but the Congress may just yet take back power - but with the entry of a third player - the AAP - the situation is a little more complicated now. Can AAP be the kingmaker in the state?

Curtains will be drawn on the three-cornered contest as Goa election results will be announced on Saturday. With 40 assembly constituencies, fight for Goa becomes interesting since each seat is a deal-maker or deal-breaker. The incumbent BJP had, in 2012, managed to get just enough seats of 21 to form the government in Goa limiting the Congress to a mere 9 seats. This time around, the entry of AAP was believed to have changed the dynamics of electoral politics in Goa.

Most exit polls have predicted a hung assembly in Goa. Many have projected BJP to emerge as the single largest party but with not enough seats to form the government. The Congress is projected to have eaten into the BJP's vote banks and the AAP is predicted to get around 3 seats. The BJP has already made it clear that it will support the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak party and it is to be seen if the MAG manages to give BJP the support it would need if the exit poll results turn out to be a reality.

[Exit Poll 2017 at a glance]

Catch all the updates for the Goa assembly election results 2017 right here:

5.55 pm: Final seats won by parties in Goa - BJP (13), Congress (17), NCP(1), MGP (3), Goa Forward (3), Independents (3) and AAP (0)

5.35 pm: Congress wins 18 seats; leads in 1, BJP wins 14, MGP wins 3 and Others 4

4.02 pm: BJP 12, Cong 14, NCP 1, MGP 3, GFP 3, Independent 2

3.45 pm: BJP wins 11, Congress 11, NCP 1, MGP 3, GFP 3, Independent 2

2.37 pm: BJP's Siddarth Sripad Kuncalienker won by 1,069 votes from Panjim

2.00 pm: BJP wins 8, INC 8, NCP 1, MGP 1, GFP 3

1.50 pm: Congress wins 11, BJP 8, Others 2 and MGP 1 seats

1.20 pm: Digambar Kamat wins Margao with 4,176 votes.

12.55 pm: Babush Monserrate is leading in Panjim against BJP's Siddharth Kuncalienkar. Siddharth took over the seat from union defence minister Manohar Parrikar.

12.55 pm: Goa early results: Congress+ 10, BJP 7, MGP+ 1 and Others 1

12.30 pm: Congress won 7 seats, BJP won 7 seats

11.44 am: Former Goa CM and Congress leader Pratapsingh Rane wins from Poriem constituency

11.30 am: AAP CM candidate for Goa Elvis Gomes currently at third position in Cuncolim, Congress first, Independent second: ANI

11.28 am: Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar loses his Mandrem seat.

11.20 am: Former Goa Deputy CM Francisco D'Souza of BJP wins from Mapusa constituency

11:10 am: Goa Forward Vijay Sardessai wins in Fatorda, defeats BJP's Damu Naik

11:05 am: Goa Leads: Congress+--8, BJP--4, Others--2 and MGP+--1

10.35 am: Goa Leads: Congress--9, BJP--7, MGP--1 and others--2

9.50 am: No AAP magic in Goa? AAP is not leading in any of the 39 seats where the party contested polls.

9.47 am: Congress-5, BJP-3, MAG-1, others 2, say trends

9.43 am: Babu Nanoskar leads in Daboli over Mauvin Gudinho

9.38 am: NCP's Churchill leads in Benaulim, Congress Babu Kavalekar leads in Quepem

9.35 am: Goa CM Laxmikant Parsekar trailing by 1000+ votes, Congress leading from Mandrem: ANI

9.25 am: Congress' Pratapsing Rane leading by 4,174 votes.

9.20 am: Leads in Goa: Congress 4, BJP 2, Others 1

9.10 am: Vinod Paliencar of Goa Forward Party is leading in Siolim by 650 votes, say reports.

9.10 am: In Mandrem constituency, Congress' Dayanand Sopte is leading by 750 votes and Goa CM Parsekar is trailing.

8.55 am: The Congress ahead in two seats in Goa: Reports

8.25 am: Union minister and former Goa CM Manohar Parrikar performs puja before the results: TV reports.

8.25 am: Counting of postal ballots likely to be completed in another 10 minutes.

8.22 am: Counting of postal ballots starts.

8.20 am: Goa CM visits counting centre in Panjim.

8.00 am: Counting begins for Goa polls

7.58 am: These are some helpful facts about the state according to a fact sheet released by PIB via the Election Commission :

Goa at a glance:

Total number of candidates: 19

Party-wise list of candidates:

Total: 251

BJP -- 36
INC -- 37
NCP -- 17
MGP -- 25
AAP -- 39
Independents -- 58

Largest constituency (area) -- Sanguem
Largest constituency (electoral) -- Vasco-da-Gama

Polling stations -- 1,642

7.40 am: Who will be Goa's next CM?
Manohar Parrikar (BJP): Union defence minister is one of the most popular and charismatic leaders from Goa. A lot of Goans would want to see Parrikar back as the next chief minister if the BJP comes to power in the state again.
Laxmikant Parsekar (BJP): Will the BJP once again make the incumbent Goa CM as the head of the state? We will get the answer soon.
Francis D'Souza (BJP): Or, will the BJP choose a Christian leader as the next CM of the state?
Luizinho Faleiro (Congress): In case the Congress comes to power, many say it is Luizinho Faleiro who will don the hat of the CM of Goa.
Digambar Kamat (Congress): Or, the Congress will once again let former CM head the state?
Elvis Gomes (Aam Aadmi Party): In the event of the AAP winning the state elections for the first time, we all know ex-bureaucrat Gomes will be the CM of the state.

Assembly Poll Results 2012: Goa
Parties Won
BJP 21
INC 09
Goa Vikas Party 02
Others 05
Maharashtrawadi Gomantak 03

6.32 am: Heavy security outside counting centres in Panaji

6.28 am: I am confident that we will win with full majority; won't need to ally with anybody: Goa CM Laxmikant Parsekar on Goa Assembly polls

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...