• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Gallantary awards for cops: 22 Delhi Police personnel conferred police medals


New Delhi, Jan 26: For their exemplary service and gallantary, twenty-two Delhi Police personnel, including two women, have been conferred with the police medals.

Three personnel of the Delhi Police, including Assistant Commissioner of Police Attar Singh and Inspector Ravinder Kumar Tyagi, currently posted with the Special Cell, have been awarded the Police Medal For Gallantry.

Image for representation

Tyagi was part of the 2008 encounter at Batla House in Delhi in which two suspected terrorists, Atif alias Bashir and Mohd Sajid alias Pankaj and police officer MC Sharma were killed. The Batla House encounter, as it became known, had taken place on September 19, 2008, and two suspects were arrested.

The deceased and other arrested militants were found responsible for over 65 terrorist incidents in different part of India. Kamal Kant Vyas, additional commissioner of police, and Surender Kumar Dahiya, assistant commissioner of police (ACP), have been conferred with the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service. During his tenure in the Economic Offences Wing as the deputy commissioner of police (DCP), Vyas ensured that history sheets of economic offenders were prepared for the first time, and a database was developed of property dealers involved in white collar crime in the EOW.

Dahiya, who served as the station house officer at Alipur, Janakpuri, Rohini and Model Town, police stations, was involved in busting several gangs of dacoits, robbers, burglars and snatchers and worked out numerous sensational cases of heinous nature.

Those who have been conferred with the Police Medal for Meritorious Service are DCPs Rajveer Singh Chauhan, Asif Mohd Ali, Sanjay Bhatia, Dinesh Kumar Gupta, Additional DCP Varsha Sharma, ACP Shashi Bala, inspectors Som Nath Paruthi, Sandeep Malhotra, Raj Kumar, Krishan Prakash, Suresh Maskeen,Assistant Sub-Inspector Jitender Dogra, head constables Kishan Chand, Dev Kumar, Subhash Kumar, Ranbir Singh and Satish Kumar. Malhotra, who joined Delhi Police in 1995, was instrumental in solving cases of 33 bomb blasts masterminded by the Lashkar-e-Taiba and arresting 25 terrorists.

He was also involved in arresting three terrorists, including Babbar Khalsa International chief Jagtar Hawara, who were allegedly involved in the assassination of Beant Singh, the former chief minister of Punjab in 1995.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more