• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Delhi Election Results 2020 UPDATES: AAP wins 62 seats, BJP gets 8, Congress at nadir, declares EC

By oneindia staff

New Delhi, Feb 11: Arvind Kejriwal led the Aam Aadmi Party to a stupendous victory yet again in the Delhi Assembly polls by winning 62 seats while the BJP chalked up victory in eight seats in the 70-member house.

Delhi Election Results 2020 LIVE: AAP wins 62 seats, BJP 8

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Key candidates to watch out for in AAP-BJP-Congress battleDelhi Assembly Elections 2020: Key candidates to watch out for in AAP-BJP-Congress battle

Delhi Polls: 62.59 per cent voter turnout, delay due to multiple scrutiny of ballot, says ECDelhi Polls: 62.59 per cent voter turnout, delay due to multiple scrutiny of ballot, says EC

Watch this space for all the LIVE updates on Delhi Election Results 2020:

Newest First Oldest First
7:16 AM, 12 Feb
The last time the BJP was in power in Delhi was in the year 1993. In the five years that the BJP ruled,, there were three chief ministers, Madan Lal Khurana, Sahib Singh Verma and Sushma Swaraj.
7:16 AM, 12 Feb
The next three terms between 1998 and 2008 saw the Congress ruling the state. Sheila Dikshit was the chief minister in 1998, 2003 and 2008. The 2013 elections and the one held in 2015 owing to Arvind Kejriwal’s resignation had the AAP ruling Delhi.
7:15 AM, 12 Feb
In the 1993 elections, the BJP won 49 of the 70 seats, while the Congress bagged 14. In the 1998 polls, the BJP won 15 and the Congress 52. In 2003, the Congress won 47 and the BJP 20.
7:15 AM, 12 Feb
In 2008, the Congress ended up with 43 while the BJP bagged 23. In 2013, the BJP had 32 MLAs, the AAP, 28 and the Congress 8. In 2015, the BJP had 3 and the AAP, 67.
11:47 PM, 11 Feb
Over 43,000 votes in the just-concluded Delhi Assembly polls were cast in the None of the Above (NOTA) category, according to official figures released on Tuesday.
11:24 PM, 11 Feb
AAP MLAs to meet at Kejriwal's residence on Wednesday to pick legislature party leader.
10:16 PM, 11 Feb
ECI declares results for all 70 seats; Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) wins 62 seats and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 8.
9:52 PM, 11 Feb
Eight of nine women candidates fielded by AAP emerge victorious
Eight of the nine women candidates fielded by the AAP in the Delhi Assembly polls won, helping the party register a thumping election victory on Tuesday. The three prominent parties -- the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress -- had fielded a total of 24 women candidates, with the Congress accounting for a maximum of 10 of them. The AAP had fielded nine women candidates, while the BJP had given tickets to five women.
9:52 PM, 11 Feb
The BJP failed to make much impact in constituencies where its leaders made controversial remarks while targeting their opponents during campaigning for the Delhi assembly polls. Only three seats, which were among 12 constituencies where Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath addressed rallies, were bagged by the BJP. The party won 8 seats as against 62 by the AAP.
9:32 PM, 11 Feb
Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) founder Kamal Haasan greeted Kejriwal for the ruling AAP's victory in the Assembly elections there, saying the voters have chosen "progressive politics."
9:25 PM, 11 Feb
Delhi Congress chief resigns
Subhash Chopra tenders his resignation from the post of Delhi Congress chief
9:24 PM, 11 Feb
From being a political force that ruled the national capital for 15 years in a row, the Congress stands decimated after the Delhi election results, failing to win for the second consecutive time even a seat and its vote share getting reduced to its lowest ever of 4.27 per cent. The grand old party of Indian politics was out of the race in each of the 70 constituencies by distant margins with 63 of its candidates losing their security deposits.
8:35 PM, 11 Feb
Official ECI results declared for 60 out of 70 seats: AAP wins 54 assembly seats and is leading on 8 others. BJP has won 6 and is leading on 2 others
8:34 PM, 11 Feb
The EC on Tuesday evening officially declared Arvind Kejriwal the winner of the New Delhi seat, with their data showing that the AAP chief and Delhi CM-designate had won the constituency by over 21,000 votes.
8:33 PM, 11 Feb
The AAP held on to the nearly 54 per cent votes it had got in the 2015 Delhi Assembly polls, while the BJP bagged its second best of 38.5 per cent votes in Assembly elections in Delhi and the Congress registered its worst-ever performance with its vote share slipping to four per cent.
7:43 PM, 11 Feb
"Kejriwal won the Delhi polls because of Hanuman ji as he recited the Hanuman Chalisa and was blessed by Lord Hanuman otherwise he would not have won," Raina told reporters here.
7:43 PM, 11 Feb
'Hanuman Chalisa' recited by Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal helped his party win the Delhi Assembly elections, Jammu and Kashmir BJP president Ravinder Raina said on Tuesday.
7:40 PM, 11 Feb
Of the exit polls, the India Today-Axis, ABP-C Voter, TV9 Bharatvarsh-Cicero got their numbers right for both the parties. The India Today-Axis survey had predicted 59-68 seats for the AAP and 2-11 for the BJP. This is for the fourth time that the India Today-Axis survey has got its predictions right, the first being for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.
7:39 PM, 11 Feb
All exit polls proved to be right in predicting AAP's victory, with the Arvind Kejriwal-led party registering a stupendous win in the Delhi Assembly polls.
7:36 PM, 11 Feb
As AAP set to form government in Delhi, former Haryana Congress chief Ashok Tanwar on Tuesday said people have rejected both the BJP and the Congress, and opted for a third alternative.
7:29 PM, 11 Feb
Reports suggests that the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) wins 62 of the 70 seats in the Delhi Assembly while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 8 seats.
7:25 PM, 11 Feb
The BJP has fought few state elections in recent times with such organisational firepower and ideological fervour as it did the Delhi polls, but this all came to nought as the party suffered a big loss, a defeat that continues its poor run in state elections since 2018.
7:22 PM, 11 Feb
As per the final results, the AAP wins 62 of the 70 seats in the Delhi Assembly while the BJP has been reduced to a single-digit number of 8.
7:22 PM, 11 Feb
People of Delhi have explained the "true" meaning of nationalism through their mandate, AAP's Manish Sisodia said after his victory in the assembly poll, as he took a jibe at the BJP whose campaign revolved around "nationalism" and other related issues.
7:20 PM, 11 Feb
My best wishes and congratulations to Kejriwal and the AAP on winning the Delhi Assembly elections, tweets Rahul Gandhi.
7:18 PM, 11 Feb
Ensuring accuracy is our top priority, so counting will take time, and people would have to be patient,says poll officer.
6:46 PM, 11 Feb
AAP's Somnath Bharti wins from Malviya Nagar seat with a margin of 18144 votes. Haji Yunus wins from Mustafabad seat with a margin of 20,704 votes.
6:46 PM, 11 Feb
PM Modi tweets, "Congratulations to AAP and Arvind Kejriwal for the victory in the Delhi Assembly elections. Wishing them the very best in fulfilling the aspirations of the people of Delhi".
6:20 PM, 11 Feb
Official ECI results declared for 40 out of 70 seats; AAP wins 37 assembly seats and is leading on 25 others. BJP has won 3 and is leading on 5 others
5:49 PM, 11 Feb
Arvind Kejriwal wins New Delhi seat

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X