• search
For Chandigarh Updates
Allow Notification  

Court refuses to hear petition of engineering student who had 17 compartments


Chandigarh, Nov 27: A B-Tech student, who has 17 compartments and took admission in the engineering college in 2009, had approached the court to allow him one more attempt to clear exams, but the court refused to hear his plea, said reports. The student took admission in NIT Kurukshetra in 2009 and was awarded the compartments during four years of the degree course.

Representational Image

The court further asked how the student would clear all exams in one attempt when he was not able to clear them in so many years.

An engineering course is of four year, so the student should have completed it by 2013. But, if a student fails in exams then the duration of the course gets extended as the student will have to clear all the exams before getting degree.

Engineers Day 2018: Significance, Why is it celebrated?

Different universities have different rules concerning the maximum limit that can be given to student to clear all pending exams.

The court said the expenses incurred by the government during this period were manifold compared to the fees that he paid, said an India Today report.

The Punjab and Haryana High Court also reportedly said not to waste its time.

Chandigarh Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Kher Kirron Anupam BJP Winner 1,91,362 42% 69,642
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Runner Up 1,21,720 27% 0
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Winner 1,61,042 47% 58,967
Satya Pal Jain BJP Runner Up 1,02,075 30% 0
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Winner 1,39,880 52% 45,248
Satya Pal Jain BJP Runner Up 94,632 35% 0
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Winner 1,32,924 47% 5,449
Krishan Lal Sharma BJP Runner Up 1,27,475 45% 0
Satya Pal Jain BJP Winner 1,19,787 42% 10,366
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Runner Up 1,09,421 39% 0
Satya Pal Jain BJP Winner 1,01,137 39% 23,969
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Runner Up 77,168 30% 0
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Winner 76,628 36% 15,095
Satya Pal Jain BJP Runner Up 61,533 29% 0
Harmohan Dhawan JD Winner 91,212 42% 3,974
Jagan Nath Kaushal INC Runner Up 87,238 40% 0
Jagan Nath Kaushal INC Winner 1,03,090 66% 66,300
Harmohan Dhawan JNP Runner Up 36,790 24% 0
Jagan Nath Kasuhal INC(I) Winner 61,624 50% 33,319
Ram Swrup IND Runner Up 28,305 23% 0
Krishna Kant BLD Winner 70,808 66% 40,426
Sat Pal INC Runner Up 30,382 28% 0
Amar Nath Vidyalankar INC Winner 48,335 67% 31,481
Shri Chand Goyal BJS Runner Up 16,854 23% 0
C. Goyal BJS Winner 23,939 49% 12,616
A. Nath INC Runner Up 11,323 23% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more