• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Assembly bypoll results: BJP wins Pakke-Kasang, 28-Likabali, Sikandra; TMC bags Sabang

By Deepika

West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress on Sunday won the Sabang Assembly constituency by-poll. While BJP bagged Pakke-Kasang in Arunachal, Sikandra Assembly in Uttar Pradesh bye-election results.

Image for representation only

Sabang: TMC wins

West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress on Sunday won the Sabang Assembly constituency by-poll.

Trinamool candidate Gita Rani Bhunia has won by a whopping margin of 64,172 votes over her nearest rival Rita Mondal of the Left Front backed CPM candidate.

Sabang constituency is being seen as a litmus test for Mukul Roy who recently joined BJP after leaving ruling TMC in the state.

The by-election to Sabang assembly constituency, was a crucial test for both the ruling Trinamool Congress and the BJP and wass held amidst tight security with eight companies of central paramilitary force personnel deployed for it.

Trinamool Congress, CPM, BJP and Congress are the key players in the fray that have fought independently after the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Congress had an alliance in the last two assembly elections - with Trinamool in 2011 and CPM in 2016.

Unlike in most bypolls, where the turnout is comparatively low, Sabang stood out with 85% polling on December 21. According to estimates, 208,470 votes were polled the total number of voters in Sabang is 245,259.

Sikandra: BJP wins

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the Sikandra bye-election leaving behind Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party and the Congress.

Sikandra constituency falls in Kanpur Dehat district, a place which gained notoriety after the 1981 Behmai massacre of 21 upper caste Rajputs allegedly by Phoolan Devi and her gang to avenge her rape.

The Sikandara Assembly seat in Kanpur Dehat district is vacant since the demise of BJP MLA Mathura Prasad Pal on 22 July.

Nearly 53 percent of the total 3.21 lakh electorate had cast their votes in the Sikandra Assembly seat. A total of 12 aspirants were in the contest, including five independent candidates.

Pakke-Kasang: BJP wins

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won Pakke-Kasang and 28-Likabali Assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh on Sunday.

Six candidates are in the fray for the by-election to Pakke-Kessang and Likabali assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh. Likabali seat fell vacant after death of Health and Family Welfare Minister Jomde Kena passed away on 4 September this year.

EVMs and Voter-Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) system were used for the first time in the state. Pakke-Kessang recorded 86 per cent polling, while Likabali constituency recorded 51 per cent. Notably, 28-Likabali (ST) constituency seat fell vacant following the death of Health and Family Welfare Minister, Jomde Kena on September 4 last year.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more