• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Congress announces 6 candidates for Delhi, fields Sheila Dikshit from North East Delhi


New Delhi, Apr 22: The Delhi unit of Congress has announced candidates for the Lok Sabha elections. While Sheila Dikshit will be contesting from Northeast Delhi, Ajay Maken has been fielded from Delhi.

File photo of Sheila Dikshit

Dikshit will face off against Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Manoj Tiwari and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)'s Dilip Pande.

The announcement also puts end to months of speculation over the party's possible alliance with the AAP. The two were in talks for weeks but at the last minute the talks failed over AAP's demand for alliance outside Delhi.

Other candidates are JP Aggarwal from Chandni Chowk, Arvinder Singh Lovely from East Delhi, Mahabal Mishra from West Delhi and Rajesh Lilothia from North West Delhi, a reserved seat.

The party is yet to announce its candidate for the South Delhi seat.

The BJP had won all the seven seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

All seven parliamentary constituencies in Delhi will vote in the sixth phase on May 12.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more