Madhya Pradesh: Congress wins Chitrakoot by-poll by over 14,000 votes

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Congress candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi won over BJP's Shankar Dayal Tripathi in Chitrakoot Assembly by-election in Madhya Pradesh.

Chitrakoot by-election: Congress leads

Meanwhile, Members of Congress celebrated outside MP Congress Committee as its candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi leads in by-poll.

BJP, Nand Kumar while speaking on Chitrakoot by-poll said,''The counting till now shows that the seat will go to Congress, but what happens here does not denote the mood of the state.''

The counting of votes polled in the November 9 by-election began at around 8 am amid tight security.

There are 1.98 lakh voters in the Chitrakoot Assembly constituency, an EC official earlier said.

As many as 257 polling booths with VVPAT (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail) machines were set up for the bypoll, he said.

Around 65 per cent voting was recorded in the bypoll necessitated following the death of sitting Congress MLA Prem Singh (65).

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and MP BJP chief Nandkumar Chouhan had campaigned for the party's candidate.

Besides, Congress chief whip in Lok Sabha Jyotiraditya Scindia, former Union Minister Kamal Nath, Leader of Opposition in MP Assembly Ajay Singh tried to drum up support for their party's nominee.

OneIndia News

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.