Campaign ends in Arunachal for LS, Assembly elections

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Itanagar, April 7: The heat and dust of electioneering for the April 9 simultaneous elections in Congress-ruled Arunachal Pradesh came to an end today. The two Lok Sabha seats in the state will witness multi-cornered contest among Congress, BJP, NCP, PPA and the independents. Among the eight candidates in the western parliamentary seat, Congress nominee and sitting MP Takam Sanjoy is locking horns with former MP Kiren Rijiju, a BJP nominee.

Among others are Jalley Sonam (PPA) and former NESO secretary general Gumjum Haider, the lone Trinamool Congress candidate in the state. In the Eastern Parliamentary seat, Union Minister of State for Minority Affairs Ninong Ering of Congress is contesting against BJP nominee Tapir Gao and Wangman Lowangcha on a People's Party of Arunachal ticket.

The two Lok Sabha seats in Arunachal will see a multi-cornered contest

Both the Lok Sabha seats were won by Congress since 1975 but for 2004 when it was won by BJP for the first time. Altogether 155 candidates including five women are in the fray for 49 assembly seats in the state. In the 49 assembly constituencies out of 60 the main contest would be between Congress and BJP. New entrant Naga Peoples' Front (NPF) along with PPA and NCP would also give a formidable fight in several assembly seats of the state. The ruling Congress has already opened its account by securing 11 Assembly seats uncontested including Chief Minister Nabam Tuki from Sagalee constituency.

Apart from Arunachal Pradesh, other northeastern states like Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur and Mizoram will also go to the polls on April 7.

[See 2009 results in seven seats going to elections on April 9]


Please Wait while comments are loading...