Bypoll results 2016: BJP shines in Karnataka, SAD in Punjab

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Feb 16: Results are slowly pouring in for the Assembly bypolls from across the country. While there have been no surprises from Uttar Pradesh, there have been a few surprises like one coming from Bihar.

Following are the details of all the bypolls:

Hits and misses of Bypolls 2016

SAD wins Khadoor Sahib bypoll in Punjab

Ruling SAD on Tuesday won the bypoll to Khadoor Sahib Assembly seat, with party candidate Ravinder Singh Brahmpura defeating his nearest rival Independent candidate Bhupinder Singh by a margin of 65,664 votes.

Congress and AAP stayed out of the contest.

Punjab's Chief Electoral Officer VK Singh said that at the end of 15 rounds of counting, Brahmpura had polled 83,080 votes as against 17,416 in favour of Bhupinder.

Shiv Sena wins Palghar (ST) Assembly, Maharashtra

Shiv Sena candidate AMit Ghoda defeated Congress candidate Rajendra Gavit by 19,000 votes to win the Palghar (ST) Assembly seat.

BJP did not contest the bypoll. Ghoda secured 67,129 votes, while Gavit got 48,181 votes in by-election, necessitated due to the demise of Ghoda's father and sitting Shiv Sena MLA Krishna A Ghoda on May 24 last year, following a heart attack.

NDA candidate wins Harlakhi Assembly bypoll, Bihar

RLSP (NDA) candidate Sudhansu Sekhar defeated his Congress rival Mohammad Shabir by a margin of 18,650 votes.

The by-poll in Harlakhi Assembly was held on Feb 14 following the death of RLSP MLA Basant Kumar and a total of nine candidates were in fray. 

With today's victory, the tally of RLSP goes up to two in the 16th Bihar Assembly while that of NDA to 58 in the 243-member House.

BJP wins two seats, Congress wins one in Karnataka

BJP's YA Narayanaswamy defeated CK Abdul Rahman Shariff of Congress by over 19,00 votes in the high-profile Hebbal segment in Bengaluru North, whereas in Devadurga constituency in Raichur district, BJP's K Shivana Gouda Nayak defeated Congress rival A Rajashekhara Nayak.

In Bidar, Congress candidate Rahim Khan won the seat.

Samajwadi Party defeated in UP

BJP's  Kapil Dev Agarwal won the by poll in Muzaffarnagar constituency whereas Congress's Mavia Ali defeated his nearest SP rival Meena Rana by 3,424 votes for the Deoband seat in Saharanpur district.

The seat fell vacant with the death of SP lawmaker Rajendra Singh Rana whereas in Muzaffarnagar the bypoll was necessitated by the death of Samajwadi Party (SP) legislator Chitranjan Swarop last year.

BJP wins Maihar assembly in Mahdya Pradesh

BJP candidate Narayan Tripathi defeated his nearest Congress rival Manish Patel in Maihar Assembly by-poll in Madhya Pradesh's Satna district. The by-poll was necessitated after Tripathi, the then Congress MLA from Maihar, resigned from his post and party after joining BJP.

TRS bags Narayankhed Assembly seat in Telangana

Ruling TRS bags Narayankhed Assembly seat in Telangana as its candidate Bhupal Reddy wins with a margin of 53,625 votes.

CPI-M wins Birganj Assembly, Tripura

Ruling CPI-M today won the Birganj Assembly by-election in Tripura's Gomati district, with party candidate Parimal Debnath trouncing his nearest BJP candidate by a margin of 10,597 votes.

The seat had fallen vacant following the resignation of the Manoranjan Acharjee from the Assembly on Dec 10 last after he was expelled from CPI(M) on charges of moral turpitude.

(With agency inputs)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...