• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    BJP's Kumar Bangarappa defeats his brother in Soraba

    By Chennabasaveshwar

    BJP's Kumar Bangarappa defeated his younger brother Madhu Bangarappa of Janata Dal (Secular) in Soraba assembly constituency. Sons of the former Chief Minister S. Bangarappa locked horns in the assembly election due to the rift in the family. Madhu Bangarappa, JD(S) had won this seat in 2013 with a margin of 21,225 votes while BJP's H. Halappa won this seat in 2008.

    BJPs Kumar Bangarappa defeats his brother in Soraba

    Before joining politics, Bangarappa was a movie actor and producer. He was the president of the party's youth wing and in 2013 he was elected as the chief whip of the JD(S).

    The former Minister and actor Kumar Bangarappa, had quit the Congress and announced his decision to join the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2017, with his supporters. And he was rewarded with a ticket to contest from Soraba.

    Kumar Bangarappa, who won from Sorab in the 1996, 1999 and 2004 elections as the Congress candidate, had a brief stint as Minister of State for Minor Irrigation in the S.M. Krishna government. He and his father became political opponents when the latter joined the Bharatiya Janata Party and contested the 2004 Lok Sabha elections from Shimoga constituency

    For Daily Alerts

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more