• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Bihar Bypoll Results: BJP retains Bhabhua; RJD wins in Jehanabad, Araria


In a major relief for RJD, its candidate Sarfaraz Alam has regained the lead in Araria Lok Sabha seat by over 14,000 votes, while the party was already leading in Jehanabad. Both, Araria Lok Sabha seat and Jehanabad Assembly seat were held by RJD.

After 21 rounds of counting, Rinki Rani Pandey of BJP has bagged 58,701 votes whereas Shambhu Singh Patel of the Congress is at second place with 14,093 votes.

Bihar Bypoll Results: BJP wins in Bhabhua; RJD in Jehanabad

In Bhabua Assembly seat, the saffron party is leading by nearly 10,000 votes. Numerically, these bypolls might be of less significance, but it is being termed as a litmus test for Bihar's chief minister Nitish Kumar as the people have voted for the first time after the CM pulled out of RJD-Congress alliance and formed a new government with the support of BJP-led NDA.

According to election office sources, a total of 28 rounds of counting will take place for results of Araria Lok Sabha seat bypoll necessitated due to demise of RJD MP Mohammad Taslimuddin. Alam, who crossed over from JD(U) to Lalu Prasad's party RJD to contest the bypoll, is son of Taslimuddin.

While Araria recorded 57 per cent voter turnout, Bhabua and Jehanabad Assembly constituencies recorded 54.03 per cent and 50.06 per cent voting in March 11 elections. Bypoll in Araria Lok Sabha constituency is being considered as a test for the ruling Janata Dal-United-BJP combine in Bihar as well as the opposition Rashtriya Janata Dal-Congress alliance.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more