• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Assam Government to promote the State as gateway to ASEAN countries

By Amitava

Assam Government is all set to promote the state as the gateway to the ASEAN countries. Following the demand of setting up of Consulates of 10 ASEAN countries in Guwahati, Assam, the Government of Assam has appealed to the Union Ministry of Civil Aviation along with the Ministry of External Affairs to connect the capitals of ASEAN countries with Guwahati, the capital of Assam.

Assam Government to promote the State as gateway to ASEAN countries

"Work is on to upgrade the Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport in Guwahati. The Union Government has already sanctioned Rs. 1000 Crore for development of a new terminal at the Airport" stated Chandra Mohan Patowary, Assam Transport, Industries and Commerce Minister.

He was talking to media persons on the sidelines of the launching of Air Ambulance service at the North Eastern Development Finance Corporation Ltd., Dispur.

In the past the Government of Assam in an attempt to provide more muscle to the Modi Government's "Act East" policy had made a demand for opening up Consulates of ASEAN countries in Guwahati.

"We are in constant touch with the Union Government for opening consulates of the ASEAN countries here. The location of Assam makes it the gateway to the ASEAN countries" stated Sarbananda Sonowal, Chief Minister. Assam.

The Chief Minister stated that Assam could be a natural choice for investors owing to its location. "Located in between the Indian mainland and the booming markets of South East Asia, Assam could well be the launching pad for business ventures in South East Asia. The Consulates in Guwahati would further boost this" stated the CM.

Sonowal feels that the large population of the 10 ASEAN countries along with Assam, coupled with good connectivity between Assam with other ASEAN countries would open up new avenues for business between South East Asian Nations and North East India.

Incidentally the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) in a regional intergovernmental organization setup on 10 Southeast Asian nations on August 8, 1967.

The main objective of ASEAN is to promote pan-Asianism, cooperation and facilities among the member countries. The 10 countries include Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Phillipines, Singapore, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos and Brunei.

OneIndia News


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more