• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

AP New Cabinet Ministers List 2022: Meet the new ministers in Jagan's government

Google Oneindia News

Amaravati: Days after 24 Ministers in YS Jagan Mohan Reddy's cabinet put in their papers, the swearing-in ceremony of new ministers was held on Monday.

After occupying the posts for 34 months, the incumbent had Ministers submitted their resignation to Chief Minister YS Jagan at the meeting of the Cabinet on April 7.

Andhra: All ministers in Jagans govt resign; new cabinet on Apr 11

"All 24 ministers of Jagan Mohan Reddy's cabinet tendered resignation today. This was the party's decision in order to reassign duties," Perni Venkataramaiah, YSRCP, said.

Meet The New Members in New AP Cabinet:

Si Name Portfolios
1 Dharmana Prasada Rao Revenue, Registrations & Stamps
2 Seediri Appala Raju Animal Husbandry, Dairy Development & Fisheries
3 Botcha Sathyanarayana Education
4 Rajanna Dora Peedika - Dy CM Tribal Welfare
5 Gudivada Amarnath Industries, Infrastructure, Investment, & Commerce; Information Technology
6 Budi Mutyala Naidu - Dy CM Panchayat Raj & Rural Development
7 Dadisetti Ramalingeshwara Rao Roads & Buildings
8 Pinipe Viswarupu Transport
9 Chelluboyina Srinivasa Venugopal Krishna Backward Class Welfare; Information & Public Relations; Cinematography
10 Taneti Vanitha Home & Disaster Management
11 Karumuri Venkata Nageswara Rao Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs
12 Kottu Sathyanarayana - Dy CM Endowments
13 Jogi Ramesh Housing
14 Merugu Nagarjuna Social Welfare
15 Vidadala Rajini Health, Family Welfare & Medical Education
16 Ambati Rambabu Water Resources
17 Audimulapu Suresh Municipal Administration & Urban Development
18 Kakani Govardhana Reddy Agriculture & Cooperation, Marketing, Food Processing
19 Peddi Reddi Ramachandra Reddy Energy, Forest, Environment, Science & Technology; Mines & Geology
20 RK Roja Tourism, Culture & Youth Advancement
21 K Narayana Swamy - Dy CM Excise
22 Amzath Basha Shaik Bepari Minority Welfare
23 Buggana Rajendranath Finance & Planning, Commercial Taxes, Legislative Affairs, Skill Development & Training
24 Gummanur Jayaram Labour, Employment, Training & Factories
25 KV Ushasri Charan Women, Children, Differently Abled and Senior Citizens Welfare

The Council of Ministers will be reconstituted here on April 11. The chief minister had a meeting with Governor Biswa Bhusan Harichandan on Wednesday night, wherein the cabinet reorganisation was discussed, the sources added.

The CM is expected to submit the resignations to the Governor today along with the list of names of new ministers, sources informed Deccan Chronicle.

When he took over as Chief Minister on May 30, 2019, Jagan had announced that he would undertake a complete overhaul of his Cabinet after two and a half years and take-in a new team. The current Cabinet was sworn-in on June 8, 2019 and was supposed to be in office till December 8, 2021.

For a variety of reasons, including the Covid-19 pandemic, the Cabinet reorganization was put off even past the due date. Last month, the Chief Minister announced that he would undertake the Cabinet reorganisation after Ugadi (Telugu New Year's Day that fell on April 2) and the subsequent formation of new districts.

The new districts came into being on April 4, clearing the way for the Cabinet rejig. According to indications from the ruling YSR Congress, the existing structure of the Council of Ministers would be retained, with five Deputy Chief Ministers in place. One DCM post will be given each to a legislator belonging to SC, ST, Muslim, Backward Caste and Kapu communities. Based on the caste calculations, at least four incumbent ministers may be re-inducted into the new Cabinet.

Apart from the Reddy community, the main support group of the YSRC, Kapu is also expected to get the same preference in the fresh Cabinet as well, essentially to counter the opposition Jana Sena of film star Pawan Kalyan. The one community to be left out again would be Brahmin, which has to remain content with the Assembly Deputy Speaker post.

Like in the outgoing Cabinet, the new one is also expected to have at least three women members. Senior Minister Botsa Satyanarayana, who also worked under Jagan's father late YS Rajasekhara Reddy, said they would now work with the responsibility of bringing the YSRC back to power (in the 2024 elections). "The Chief Minister had clearly said the Cabinet would be re-constituted after two and a half years. The Chief Minister himself will decide whom to continue in the new Cabinet," Botsa told media.

Velampalli Srinivas, who held the Endowments portfolio in the outgoing Cabinet, said they would abide by the Chief Minister's decision. Another outgoing minister Sri Venkateswara Rao noted that the CM himself felt "more sad than us" over the resignations. "We clearly told the Chief Minister we will abide by his decision. New legislators will get an opportunity to become ministers," he added. PTI

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X