23 candidates file nominations for Rajasthan bypolls

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Jaipur, Aug 27: A total of twenty three candidates have filed nominations for the four assembly constituencies going to bypoll in Rajasthan on September 13 as the last date of filing papers ended today.

According to an election official, four candidates each of Congress and BJP were among the 23 candidates who filed nomination papers for the four constituencies of Surajgarh, Weir, Nasirabad, and Kota (South), the official said.

Scrutiny of papers will take place tomorrow and the last date of withdrawal would be August 30. BJP, which was to announce its candidate for Surajgarh assembly seat, has fielded former Health and Medical Minister Digamber Singh as its nominee from the constituency.

Eleven candidates are in the running from Surajgarh constituency, three from Weir, seven from Nasirabad, and two from Kota (South) assembly seat. Bypolls were necessitated in the four assembly seats of Rajasthan as they fell vacant after the sitting MLAs were elected to Lok Sabha.


Please Wait while comments are loading...