Election timetable: 5 states to go to polls in next 5 months

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, July 16, 2013, 13:02 [IST]
Poll timetable: 5 states to go to polls

Five states will go to elections in later this year. They are Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram and Rajasthan. The Lok Sabha elections are scheduled in April-May next year (unless something drastic happens) along with many other assembly elections.

Earlier this year, assembly elections were held in three north-eastern states, namely, Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland this year along with Karnataka.

Of the five states going to polls this year, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh have BJP governments while the other three are ruled by the Congress.

End of term:

Chhattisgarh assembly January 4, 2014

Delhi assembly December 17, 2013

Madhya Pradesh assembly December 12, 2013

Mizoram assembly December 15, 2013

Rajasthan assembly December 31, 2013


Chhattisgarh: BJP won 50 out of 90 seats

Delhi: Congress won 43 out of 70 seats

Madhya Pradesh: BJP won 143 out of 230 seats

Mizoram: Congress won 32 seats out of 40 seats

Rajasthan: Congress won 96 out of 199 seats

OneIndia News

Write a Comment