Lok Sabha poll 2014: Know about constituencies of Phase 2 (April 9)

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, April 1: Here are the details of the constituencies that will go to the Lok Sabha election on April 9 (Wednesday), when the second of the nine-phase election will be held.

Two constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya and one each in Mizoram, Nagaland and Manipur will go to the polls on that day.

[See phase 1 details here]



Arunachal West (Gen): In 2009, Takam Sanjoy of the Congress defeated Kiren Rijiju of the BJP by 1,314 votes. The difference between the two parties in terms of vote-share was 0.5 per cent.

Arunachal East (Gen): In 2009, Ninong Erring of the Congress beat BJP's Tapir Gao by 68,449 votes. The difference in vote-share was 31.8 per cent.



Shillong (ST): In 2009, Vincent H Pala of the Congress defeated JF Kharshiing of the UDF by 1,07,868 votes. The difference between the two in terms of vote-share was 23.4%.

In 2009, the Congress won 5 of the 7 seats that will go to polls on April 9

Tura (ST): In 2009, Agatha Sangma of the Nationalist Congress Party defeated Debora C Marak of the Congress by 17,945 votes. The difference in vote share was 5.2%. This time, veteran politician Purna Sangma has replaced his daughter Agatha as the National People's Party candidate from this seat.

[Read: PA Sangma back in action from Tura]



Mizoram (ST): In 2009, CL Ruala of the Congress defeated Dr H Lallungmuana, an Independent, by 1,08,955 votes. The difference in vote-share was 32.8%. This time, the Aam Aadmi Party has fielded a candidate from this seat.

[The polling in Mizoram was, however, postponed to April 11 due to the Bru issue, read here]



Nagaland (Gen): In 2009, CM Change of the Nagaland People's Front defeated K. Asungba Sangtam of the Congress by 4,83,021 votes, the biggest margin of that year. The difference in vote-share was 40.6%.



Outer Manipur (ST): In 2009, Congress's K Asungba Sangtam defeated People's Democratic Alliance's Mani Charenamei by 1,19,798 votes. The difference in vote-share was 15.9%.

OneIndia News

[With inputs from www.indiavoters.com]

Please Wait while comments are loading...