Lok Sabha poll 2014: Know about constituencies of Phase 6 (April 24)

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, April 19: The sixth phase of the nine-phase Lok Sabha election will be held in 11 states and one Union Territory on April 24 (Thursday). One-hundred and seventeen constituencies will go the election on that day. Here is a look at the 2009 results in 26 constituencies of those in the states of Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal and Jharkhand.

[See about other constituencies going to poll on April 24]

[See Tamil Nadu constituencies]

[For previous phases: see here]

State: ASSAM

Constituencies: 6

Dhubri: In 2009, All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)'s Badruddin Ajmal defeated Congress's Anwar Hussain by 1,84,419 votes (difference in vote-share was 17.6%)

Kokrajhar (ST): In 2009, Bodoland People's Front (BPF)'s SK Bwiswmuthiary defeated Independent Urkhao Gwra Brahma by 1,90,322 votes (difference in vote-share was 18.7%)

Barpeta: In 2009, Congress's Ismail Hussain defeated Asom Gana Parishad's Bhupen Ray by 30,429 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.4%)

Gauhati: In 2009, BJP's Bijoya Chakravarty defeated Congress' Capt. Robin Bordoloi by 11,855 votes (difference in vote-share was 1.1%)

Mangaldoi: In 2009, BJP's Ramen Deka defeated Congress's Madhab Rajbangshi by 55,849 votes (difference in vote-share was 5.7%)

Nowgong: In 2009, BJP's Rajen Gohain defeated Congrss's Anil Raja by 45,380 votes (difference in vote-share was 4.5%)

Of the six constituencies in Assam going to polls on April 24, the BJP won three in 2009, while the Congress, AIDUF and BPF won one each.

State: BIHAR

Constituencies: 7

Supaul: In 2009, JD(U)'s Vishwa Mohan Kumar defeated Congress's Ranjit Ranjan by 1,66,075 votes (difference in vote-share was 23.8%)

Araria: In 2009, BJP's Pradeep Kumar Singh defeated Lok Jan Shakti Party's (LJP) Zakir Hussain Khan by 22,502 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.1%)

Kishanganj: In 2009, Congress's Mohammad Asrarul Haque defeated JD(U)'s Syed Mahmood Ashraf by 80,269 votes (difference in vote-share was 12.8%)

Katihar: In 2009, BJP's Nikhil Kumar Choudhary defeated NCP's Tariq Anwar Shah by 14,015 votes (difference in vote-share was 1.9%)

Purnia: In 2009, BJP's Uday Singh defeated Independent Shanti Priya by 1,86,227 votes (difference in vote-share was 26.4%)

Bhagalpur: In 2009, BJP's Syed Shahnawaz Hussain defeated RJD's Shakuni Choudhary by 55,811 votes (difference in vote-share was 8.9%)

Banka: In 2009, Independent Digvijay Singh defeated RJD's Jai Prakesh Narain Yadav by 28,716 votes (difference in vote-share was 4.4%)

In 2009, the BJP won four of the seven constituencies in Bihar that will go to the polls on April 24. The Congress and JD(U) won one each while one was won by the Independent candidate.


Constituencies: 7

Sarguja (ST): In 2009, BJP's Murarilal Singh defeated Congress's Bhanu Pratap Singh by 1,59,548 votes (difference in vote-share was 19.8%)

Raigarh (ST): In 2009, BJP's Vishnu Deo Sai defeated Congress's Hridayaram Rathiya by 55,848 votes (difference in vote-share was 6%)

Janjgir-Champa (SC): In 2009, BJP's Kamla Devi Patle defeated Congress's Dr.Shivkumar Dahariya by 87,211 votes (difference in vote-share was 11.8%)

Korba: In 2009, Congrss's Charan Das Mahant defeated BJP's Karuna Shukla by 20,737 votes (difference in vote-share was 2.8%)

Bilaspur: In 2009, BJP's Dilip Singh Judev defeated Congres's Dr.Renu Jogi 20,139 votes (difference in vote-share was 2.6%)

Durg: In 2009, BJP's Saroj Pandey defeated Congrss's Pradeep Choubey by 9,954 votes (difference in vote-share was 1.1%)

Raipur: In 2009, BJP's Ramesh Bais defeated Congress's Bhupesh Baghel by 57,901 votes (difference in vote-share was 7.8%)

In 2009, the BJP won six of the seven constituencies in Chhattisgarh that will go to the polls on April 24.


Constituencies: 6

Raiganj: In 2009, Congress's Deepa Dasmunshi defeated CPI(M)'s Bireswar Lahiri by 1,05,203 votes (difference in vote-share was 11.7%)

Balurghat: In 2009, RSP's Prashanta Kumar Majumdar defeated Trinamool Congress's (TMC) Biplab Mitra by 5,105 votes (difference in vote-share was 0.6%)

Maldaha Uttar: In 2009, Congress's Mausam Benazir Noor defeated CPI(M)'s Sailen Sarkar by 60,141 votes (difference in vote-share was 6.5%)

Maldaha Dakshin: In 2009, Congress's Abu Hashem Khan Choudhury defeated CPI(M)'s Abdur Razzaque by 1,36,280 votes (difference in vote-share was 16.4%)

Jangipur: In 2009, Congress's Pranab Mukherjee defeated CPI(N)'s Mriganka Sekhar Bhattacharya by 1,28,149 votes (difference in vote-share was 13.7%). Pranab Mukherjee's spn Abhijit Mukherjee became the MP from this seat after winning the by-election in 2012 after Pranab Mukherjee became the President of India.

Murshidabad: In 2009, Congress's Abdul Mannan Hossain defeated CPI(M)'s Anisur Rahaman Sarkar by 35,647 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.4%)

In 2009, The Trinamool Congress-Congress alliance won six of the seven constituencies that will to the election on April 24. The RSP won the remaining seat.


Constituencies: 4

Rajmahal (ST): In 2009, BJP's Devidhan Besra defeated JMM's Hemlal Murmu by 8,983 votes (difference in vote-share was 1.4%)

Dumka (ST): In 2009, JMM's Shibu Soren defeated BJP's Sunil Soren by 18,812 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.0%)

Godda: In 2009, BJP's Nishikant Dubey defeated Congress's Furkan Ansari by ,407 votes (difference in vote-share was 0.8%)

Dhanbad: In 2009, BJP's Pashupati Nath Singh defeated Congress's Chandrashekhar Dubey by 58,047 votes (difference in vote-share was 7.1%)

The BJP won 3 of the 4 constituencies in Jrakhand that will go to the polls on April 24. The JMM won the other constituency.

Oneindia News

[With inputs from www.indiavotes.com]

Please Wait while comments are loading...