• search
For Aurangabad Updates
Allow Notification  

Rita Bahuguna Joshi: Have orientations for men and not women

'Women need to be empowered' says Joshi
Bangalore, Feb 8: Congress spokesperson Rita Bahuguna Joshi quoted the Atharva Veda and said: "The whole world is our motherland and we are its children," at the International Women's Conference here at the Art of Living ashram.

Joshi was one of the many speakers who spoke at the conference. Sharing words of encouragement with the participants, she said that women's movement has come a long way. "We have gained our rights and for women the sky is the limit. We don't want to limt oursleves anymore," she said.

Speaking about the atrocities committed against women Joshi said that a majority of women across the world are subjected to violence. "We have to gain strength. There is no peace, no harmony if women don't feel safe and secure. Till there are social issues and conflicts, women will continue to suffer," she said.

Joshi: 1.5 million women in the country hold elective positions

Joshi said that though there is empowerment of women in the country, the pace at which it is taking place is slow. "1.5 million women in the country hold elective positions. However the government is not implementing the provisions that will serve women," she said.

Before ending her speech she said: "Everybody says that women create problems for men. I say instead of having orientation for women for their safety, we must have orientation for men in order to change their mindset," she said.

OneIndia News

Aurangabad Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Chandrakant Bhaurao Khaire SHS Winner 5,20,902 53% 1,62,000
Patil Nitin Suresh INC Runner Up 3,58,902 37% 0
Chandrakant Khaire SHS Winner 2,55,896 35% 33,014
Uttamsingh Rajdharsingh Pawar INC Runner Up 2,22,882 30% 0
Chandrakant Khaire SHS Winner 4,77,900 52% 1,21,923
Nikhil Kumar INC Runner Up 3,55,977 39% 0
Chandrakant Khaire SHS Winner 3,83,144 45% 55,889
A R Antulay INC Runner Up 3,27,255 38% 0
Ramkrishna Baba Patil INC Winner 4,08,168 51% 30,126
Jaiswal Pradeep Shivnarayan SHS Runner Up 3,78,042 47% 0
Jaiswal Pradeep SHS Winner 3,01,163 44% 1,14,579
Suresh Patil INC Runner Up 1,86,584 28% 0
Moreshwar Save SHS Winner 2,35,859 41% 82,419
Zakeria Rafic JD Runner Up 1,53,440 27% 0
Moroshwar Save IND Winner 3,22,467 48% 17,824
Suresh Patil INC Runner Up 3,04,643 46% 0
Sahebrao P.dongaonkar ICS Winner 2,46,136 51% 92,419
Abdul Azim Abdul Hamid INC Runner Up 1,53,717 32% 0
Kazi Salem INC(I) Winner 1,69,723 51% 83,748
Dongaonkar Sahebrao Patil INC(U) Runner Up 85,975 26% 0
Bapu Kaldate BLD Winner 2,01,021 56% 57,089
Chandrashekhar Rajurkar INC Runner Up 1,43,932 40% 0
Manik Rao Palodkar INC Winner 1,94,926 73% 1,47,911
Ram Bhau Eknath Gavande BJS Runner Up 47,015 18% 0
B. D. Deshmukh INC Winner 1,35,865 56% 83,464
S. G. Sardesai CPI Runner Up 52,401 22% 0
Bhaurao Dagdurao Deshmukh INC Winner 1,42,209 66% 68,350
Balasaheb Shivram More REP Runner Up 73,859 34% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more