Gujarat CM Narendra Modi announces 23 new talukas on Ganesh Chaturthi

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Modi announces 23 new talukas in Gujarat
Gandhinagar, Sept 10: Chief Minister Narendra Modi on Monday announced creation of 23 new talukas on the auspicious occasion of Ganesh Chaturthi. Now the total number of talukas has reached to 248 from 225. He had announced the creation of seven new districts on last Independence Day.

115 new officers were appointed to manage these new districts and talukas

Gujarat's Finance Minister Nitin Patel said the creation of new talukas will speed up the process of development and ensure better access of public and administrative services to the people. He said the Revenue Ministry has made all necessary arrangements for formation and administration of the new talukas as these revenue units would make administration simpler, accessible and speedier and serve as the pillars of all round development of the state.

The Council of Ministers accepted the proposals submitted by Revenue Minister Anandiben Patel on the basis of recommendations of the Cabinet Sub-Committee.

The creation of new districts and talukas was a result of announcements made by CM Narendra Modi last year during his 'Vivekananda Yuva Vikas Yatra' in run-up to the December Assembly polls. The new units have been carved out keeping in view people's expectations, welfare of the people, reducing the geographical distances, decentralization and administrative convenience.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet blockquote"><p>On the auspicious day of Ganesh Chaturthi, announced formation of 23 new Talukas in Gujarat. Sharing details <a href=""></a></p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="">September 9, 2013</a></blockquote> <script async src="//" charset="utf-8"></script>

It is part of the State Government's policy of ‘Aapno Taluko, Vibrant Taluko', in pursuance of which 115 new officers were appointed.

Incumbents for the new talukas would be appointed and infrastructure built soon.

The 23 new talukas have been carved out of the following one or more talukas (within brackets) as mentioned on Modi's website. They are: Gir-Gaddha (Una), Junagadh City (Junagadh), Lakhni (Deesa, Deodar, Tharad), Jesar (Mahuva, Gariadhar, Palitana), Khergam ((Chikhli), Shankheshwar (Sami), Saraswati (Patan), Vapi (Pardi), Waghai (Dangs), Subir (Dangs), Jotana (Kadi, Mehsana), Netrang (Jhagadia, Valia), Suigam (Vav), Thangadh (Chotila, Muli, Sayla), Dholera (Dhandhuka, Barwala), Vinchhia (Jasdan), Galteshwar (Thasra), Bodeli (Sankheda, Jetpur-Pavi), Poshina (Khedbrahma), Sanjeli (Zalod), Gozaria (Mehsana, Vijapur, Kadi, Visnagar, Mansa), Vaso (Matar, Nadiad) and Desar (Savli).

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...