• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

K'taka bypolls: SP to support Congress in B'lore (rural) constituency


Bangalore, Aug 16: The lone Samajwadi party (SP) MLA from Karnataka C P Yogeeshwara has decided to support the Congress candidate D K Suresh in the upcoming Lok Sabha bypolls.

D K Suresh is the Congress candidate from Bangalore (rural) Lok Sabha constituency and he is the brother of former minister and congress leader D K Shivakumar.

On Thursday at an public function organized by SP workers in Channapatna taluk of Ramanagara district, Yogeeshwara gave an assurance of unconditional support to the congress candidate D K Suresh.

Sources in Congress says that with the support of SP certainly boost the prospects of Suresh as Yogeshwar holds sway over 1.5 lakh supporters in the constituency and neighbouring areas.

K'taka: SP to back Congress in bypolls

Meanwhile sources claimed that SP MLA has demanded the the minister post in return of supporting the congress candidate but later the legislator denied the allegation and said that he will not be able to campaign for the party. Instead, he would ask his followers to work for the Congress candidate.

D K Suresh will be contesting against Janata Dal (S) candidate Anita Kumaraswamy, wife of former chief minister of Karnataka and JD(S) state president H D Kumaraswamy from Bangalore (rural) Lok Sabha constituency in crucial bypoll on August 21.

Earlier C P Yogeeshwara defeated Janata Dal-Secular's (JD-S) Anitha Kumaraswamy under Samajwadi Party ticket from Channapatna constituency.

Yogeeshwara, who was a forest minister in the BJP government, quit the post and the party hoping for a Congress ticket but hopped on to SP when this was denied to him.

Yogeeshwara defeated Anita by 6,404 votes. He polled 80,039 votes against 73,635 of Anita.

On the other side Actor-turned-politician Ramya (Divya Spandana) from Congress will be contesting against JD(S) candidate C S Puttaraju from Mandya Lok Sabha constituency.

The Bengalore (rural) and Mandya Lok Sabha seats fell vacant following the election of Kumaraswamy and N Cheluvarayaswamy to the Legislative Assembly.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more