Gujarat to get 7 new districts on Independence Day

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Ahmedabad, Aug 14: Gujarat is all set to get seven new districts on August 15, the state government announced on Tuesday. The new districts will be: Aravalli, Botad, Chhota Udepur, Gir Somnath, Mahisagar, Devbhoomi Dwarka and Morbi.

[Send I-Day Greetings]

With this, the number of districts in the western state will become 33.

Sources in the state government said the new districts have been formed with an aim to decentralise the administration and make it more efficient and speedy.

Aravalli has been carved out of Sabarkantha, Gir Somnath out of Junagadh, Botad out of Bhavnagar and Ahmedabad, Chhota Udepur from Vadodara, Dwarka from Jamnagar, Morbi from Rajkot, Jamnagar and Surendranagar and Mahisagar from Panchmahals and Kheda.

The government said the collectors and other officials of the districts from which the new ones have been carved out will look after the latter. It said the process to create new talukas was also in progress and that budgetary provisions will be made for administrative and other requirements of the new districts.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...