Two more Andhra legislators quit

Posted By: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Andhra Pradesh
Hyderabad, July 26: Two more legislators from Seemandhra Friday announced their resignation, taking to 19 the number of legislators who quit since Thursday to thwart any decision by the centre to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh.

With Congress leadership intensifying their efforts to find a solution to Telangana issue, legislators from Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and Andhra regions) are sending their resignations to assembly speaker to stall a possible move to carve out Telangana state out of Andhra Pradesh.

A day after 16 legislators belonging to YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and one of the ruling Congress party submitted their resignations, two more legislators of Congress party announced that they are sending their resignations to assembly Speaker N. Manohar.

Sridhar Krishna Reddy and A. Prabhakar Reddy, both legislators from Nellore district in coastal Andhra, Friday told reporters that they have faxed their resignations to assembly speaker.

The resignations have created 2009-like situation when legislators from Seemandhra, irrespective of their party affiliations had quit en mass after the centre announced that the process for formation of separate Telangana state would be initiated.


Please Wait while comments are loading...