Looking back at Pakistan's rulers since August 14, 1947

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 10: Pakistan will go to the historic general election on May 11. It is historic for this will be the first time in the country's 66-year-old history that one democratically elected government will hand over power to another democratically elected government. Not many civilian governments have succeeded to survive in a nation, which has often been ruled over by an ambitious military.

The PPP had led a coalition government since 2008 while this time, the PML(N) led by former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and PTI led by cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan are among the favourites.


Here is a look at the history of Pakistan's ruling establishments since August 14, 1947:

1. Prime Minister Liaquat Ali Khan (Muslim League) from August 14, 1947, till October 16, 1951. He was assassinated.

2. PM Sir Khwaja Nazimuddin (Muslim League) from October 17, 1951, till April 17, 1953. His government was dissolved by Governor General Ghulam Muhammad.

3. PM Muhammad Ali Bogra (Muslim League) from April 17, 1953, till August 12, 1955. His government was dissolved by the then Governor-General Iskander Mirza.

4. PM Chaudhrya Muhammad Ali (Muslim League) from August 12, 1955, till September 12, 1956. He resigned due to rift in the party.

5. PM Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy (Awami League) from September 12, 1956, till October 17, 1957. He resigned due to differences with Mirza.

6. PM Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar (Muslim League) from October 17, 1957, till December 16, 1957. He resigned after failing to pursue his programme owing to political bickering.

7. PM Sir Feroz Khan Noon (Republican Party) from December 16, 1957, till October 7, 1958. He was dismissed after President Iskander Mirza imposed martial law.

8. Martial law imposed in the country from 1958 to 1971 (1958-69 and 1969-71). General Ayub Khan took over as Pakistan's first military dictator after Iskander Mirza was arrested in October 1958. Ayub Khan had continued as Pakistan's President till 1969. His successor Yahya Khan had imposed the second marshal law in 1969.

9. PM Nurul Amin (Muslim League) from December 7, 1971, till December 20, 1971. Zulfikar Ali Bhutto took over as the civilian Chief Marshal Law Administrator.The post of the PM remained abolished till August 14, 1973.

10. PM Z A Bhutto (PPP) from August 14, 1973, till July 5, 1977. He was overthrown by military dictator Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq abd subsequently hanged.

11. Army rule from July 5, 1977, till March 24, 1985. President Zia-ul-Haq had to give in under mounting pressure to hold elections. He died in a plane crash in August 1988.

12. Muhammad Khan Junejo (Independet; Pakistan Muslim League) from March 24, 1985 till May 29, 1988. His government was dismissed by President Zia-ul-Haq after differences surfaced between them.

13. After a gap of six months during when the post of the PM remained abolished, PPP's Benazir Bhutto became the PM on December 2, 1988. She continued till August 6, 1990, when her government was dismissed by President Ghulam Ishaq Khan.

14. Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi served as the Caretaker PM from August 6, 1990 till November 6, 1990.

15. PM Nawaz Sharif (PML-N) from November 6, 1990 till April 18, 1993. His government was also dismissed by Ghulam Ishaq Khan but was reinstated by the Supreme Court of Pakistan.

16. Balakh Sher Mazari served as the Caretaker PM from April 18, 1993, till May 26, 1993.

17. Nawaz Sharif continued from May 26, 1993, till July 18, 1993. He resigned.

18. Moeenuddin Ahmad Qureshi served as the Caretaker PM from July, 18, 1993, till October 19, 1993.
19. PM Benazir Bhutto from October 1993, till November 5, 1996. Her government was dismissed by President Farooq Leghari.

20. Malik Meraj Khalid served as the Caretaker PM from November 5, 1996, till February 17, 1997.

21. Nawaz Sharif became PM for a second term on February 17, 1997, and continued till October 12, 1999. His government was toppled in a coup by military dictator General Pervez Musharraf.

22. Army rule resumed in Pakistan on October 12, 1999, and continued till November 20, 2002.

23. PM Zafarullah Khan Jamali (PML-Q) from November 21, 2002, till June 26, 2004. He resigned.

24. PM Chaudhry Sujaat Hussain (PML-Q) from June 30, 2004, till August 20, 2004. He stepped down in support of Shaukat Aziz for the PM's office.

25. PM Shaukat Aziz (PML-Q) from August 20, 2004, till November 16, 2007. His term expired.

26. Muhammad Mian Soomro (PML-Q) served as the Caretaker PM from November 16, 2007, till March 25, 2008.

27. PM Yousuf Raza Gillani (PPP) from March 25, 2008, till June 19, 2012. He was disqualified by the Supreme Court for the contempt of court.

28. Rja Pervaiz Ashraf (PPP) from June 22, 2012, till March 25, 2013. The term of the PPP-led coalition government ended.

29. Mir Hazar Khoso is currently serving as the Caretaker government.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...