Mamata formally breaks ties with UPA, TMC mins resign

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Mukul Roya and Manmohan Singh
New Delhi, Sept 21: Six Trinamool Congress (TMC) ministers on Friday, Sept 21 met Prime Minister Manmohan Singh at his residence at 7RCR in New Delhi and submitted their resignation letters.

Before their meeting with Manmohan Singh, the six ministers followed protocols. They left their official cars and travelled in their private cars.

It was a short three minute meeting at the PM's residence. While accepting resignation letters from Mamata Banerjee's party leaders, the PM was quoted as saying, "Sorry you had to tender resignations."

TMC ministers' resignations marked the formal end of tie between Trinamool Congress and Congress. After their meeting with the PM, TMC leaders headed towards Rashtrapati Bhawan to meet President Pranab Mukherjee.

The leaders would submit letter to the President formally announcing their decision of withdrawing their support from the UPA government.

Six TMC ministers who resigned from UPA II are:

  1. Mukul Roy (Railway Minister - Cabinet Rank)
  2. Saugata Roy (Minister of Urban Development)
  3. Sudip Bandyopadhyay (Minister of Health and Family Welfare)
  4. Choudhury Mohan Jatua (Minister of Information and Broadcasting)
  5. Sultan Ahmed (Minister of Tourism)
  6. Sisir Kumar Adhikari (Minister of Rural Development)

TMC was the second powerful ally in Manmohan Singh's government. Following the dispute over centre's decision to introduce Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in retail and fuel price hike, TMC led by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee took the shocking decision on Tuesday.

However, UPA government has overcome initial threat as Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati declared that their parties would continue to support UPA from outside.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...