Family politics to play major role in Punjab polls

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Punjab Map
Chandigarh, Jan 6: Punjab assembly election has emerged as a family affair as numerous family members in the fray starting from the son of state Congress President and former Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, Raninder Singh, to Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Rajinder Kaur Bhattal's son-in-law, Vikram Singh Bajwa and several relatives of important politicians figure in the list of 114 candidates announced. The candidates were announced late Jan 5 night at the Congress headquarters in New Delhi for the state's 117 assembly seats.

Moreover, Mahesh Inder Singh has been fielded from the crucial Lambi seat where he will contest against his cousin brothers namely Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal of the Akali Dal and his younger brother Gurdas Badal, who is the father of Manpreet Badal and the Peoples Party of Punjab candidate.

Gurkirat Singh Kotli, who will contest from Khanna assembly seat for Congress, is the grandson of former Chief Minister Beant Singh and son of former minister Tej Prakash Singh. He is also a cousin of Anandpur Sahib MP Ravneet Singh Bittu. Furthermore, ex-state Congress president Shamsher Singh Dullo's wife, Harbans Kaur Dullo, a former legislator, has been fielded from the Bassi Pathana assembly seat.

Aman Arora, son of former minister Bhagwan Dass Arora will contest from the Sunam assembly seat. Moreover, past Lok Sabha speaker Balram Jakhar's son, Sunil Jakhar has been fielded from the Abohar seat representing Congress. Ripjit Brar, the brother of senior Congress leader Jagmeet Singh Brar will contest the Kotkapura assembly seat in Faridkot district of Punjab.

The forthcoming Punjab assembly election will create a massive competition between the ruling Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) combine and the Congress. Moreover, Peoples Party of Punjab and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are also in the fray with their candidates in various crucial seats. Meanwhile, Punjab Assembly elections will be held on Jan 30.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...