BJP wins Karnataka battle; BSY agrees to resign on Jul 31

Posted By: Abdul Nisar
Subscribe to Oneindia News
BS Yeddyurappa
Bangalore, Jul 30: After a series of rumours and speculations, Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa said in a press release sent to media that he will resign the CM post on Sunday, Jul 31 afternoon.

The decision came amidst the pressure from BJP High-command and national leaders. Earlier, media reported that BS Yeddyurappa, the first BJP CM in South India, set some conditions to resign as chief minister. But, now sources in BJP said that party observers Rajnath Singh and Arun Jaitely conveyed a strong message to BSY that party was even ready to sacrifice the government to protect its face in the upcoming Parliament Monsoon session.

Media reported that BJP will hold Legislative Party Meeting on Sunday to decide the new Karnataka Chief Minister.

With the unexpected political drama created by Yeddyurappa and his loyalists, BJP national leaders are unlikely to offer party state chief post to Yeddyurappa.

Meanwhile, some unconfirmed reports added that BJP national leaders agreed to make BSY's nominee as the new CM. The reports said that during his second round talks with party observers, BSY set condition to resign as the CM.

Moreover, after BSY's and state party president Eshwarappa's meeting with Arun Jaitely and Rajnath Singh, BJP reportedly made a three member candidate list for the new CM post. The list includes VS Acharya, Suresh Kumar and Sadananda Gowda.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...