Three of four new Meghalaya ministers sworn-in

Posted By: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Meghalaya map
Shillong, Jun 7: Political drama continued in Meghalaya as one of the four new ministers scheduled to be sworn-in on Tuesday, June 7failed to turn up at Raj Bhavan at the appointed hour.

Three others A L Hek, Saleng Sangma and Shitlang Pale were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor R S Mooshahary.

There was no official word as to why Umroi MLA S W Rymbai, who was also scheduled to be sworn in, did not turn up for the ceremony.

Chief Minister Mukul Sangma affected the reshuffle in an apparent bid to douse a rebellion by a group of dissident Congress MLAs who were seeking his ouster.

Sangma showed the exit door to four of the rebel ministers Prestone Tyngsong (PHE, General Administration, Municipal Administration and Science and Technology), F W Momin (Community and Rural Development, Cooperation and Water Resources), Augustine D Marak (Food and Civil Supplies, Civil Defence and Home Guards) and Founder Cajee (Fisheries and Urban Affairs).

The rural development minister, who was the most vocal among the dissidents and was camping in the national capital with some other dissident Congress MLA, had claimed that Sangma had lost majority.

It has been over four months since the detractors of Sangma have been seeking a change of CLP leader, frequently visiting the national capital to air their grievances against Sangma before AICC leaders.


Please Wait while comments are loading...